Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Walter Schmid

Walter Schmid
Walter Schmid
  • 1
  • 0
  • 13
  • 0

Basic Information

Member Since
Dec. 17, 2016
Last Seen
15 hours ago
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Walter Schmid's bidding problem: 76 986 KQ4 98765
North Hand
Walter Schmid's bidding problem: Q87653 KQT9 64 3
That's one reason I would not have opted for 6NT nor 6D not knowing if responder had even 1 diamond. We know we have 8 spades, so If North has only (AX) of Spades, then he should have the (AH) for his bidding. I think 6S has a good ...
Walter Schmid's bidding problem: Q87653 KQT9 64 3
I agree that South should have mentioned the heart suit and North would not be afraid to ask for Aces and maybe end up in 6D or 6NT but that's how the bidding went. Bidding 2S over 2C usually promises 2 or the top 3 honors so maybe South ...
Walter Schmid's bidding problem: Q87653 KQT9 64 3
Do folks these days open (2C) and then bid (a suit) only to show (15 HCP) or do they still show (22+ HCP) and/or (9 sure tricks). If Spades is trump, South has (4 or 5 sure tricks). So South should count (9 + 4) tricks and at least ask ...
Drew Cavalier's bidding problem: 2 AT96543 AKQ8 7
I hate to be the only voter in my group. I can't see how Pass is the only possible bid. On other quizzes there are 8 different opinions.
Kyle Rockoff's bidding problem: KQJx Jx AQJxx Tx
If West had 4 spades, it would be mandatory for him to bid Spades even with zero HCP, so West may want to defend. If I bid again it will be 3D.
Marc LaChapelle's lead problem: AJ9 xxx xxx Jxxx
A Lightner Double calls for the lead of the first suit bid by the dummy. If partner wanted a Spade lead, he would not have to double because I had the Ace of Spades in my hand until he doubled. How would his double ever call for a heart lead?
Jim Rasmussen's bidding problem: K8 J8654 KQ9 872
What is the minimum and what is the maximum hand that West could have for his bidding? If West's overcall followed by double shows 20 HCP, then I would vote for 3NT. Could West's double be penalty?
Jim Rasmussen's bidding problem: K8 J8654 KQ9 872
I was referring to Overcalls. I thought Goren taught that overcalls at the 1 level required (7 to 15 HCP) but I never read where the exception to the rule would have a maximum of 20 HCP. So that is new to me but I can see the point. I ...
Jim Rasmussen's bidding problem: K8 J8654 KQ9 872
West didn't double (1D) so his hand is limited to (15 HCP). West didn't make a Michael's Cue bid either and (KQX) in diamonds can't be a great feature. West might have doubled with (5 spades) and (4 hearts). So (3H) would be the limit for ...
No followers yet

Bottom Home Top