Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Steve Willner

Steve Willner
Steve Willner
  • 6
    Following
  • 9
    Followers
  • 18
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 14, 2013
Last Seen
Dec. 15
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Live and play in Boston area.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
‘Sorry, I’ve got another one wrong’
No. There is never a "bridge reason" for any gratuitous remark. In contrast, there is usually (not always) a bridge reason for taking a long time to think about choice of call or play. One exception made in case law is that taking a long time to think about which ...
Puposely revoking
Once is happenstance. Twice is coincidence. Three times....
Board of Governors - Live video stream
Are the new charts as presented, i.e., after taking the latest comments into account, available anywhere?
Another question on a director call
"... Law 70.D.1 that states the director should take into consideration the "the class of the player involved" That is the opposite of what L70D1 says. A paraphrase of the Law would be "Even the best player can miss something, so when ruling on a claim you treat careless ...
Comparable Call?
If I were in this position, I'd bid 1NT barring partner. Do you think that would run afoul of L72C? If opening 1NT were 10-12, I think 1NT overcall (presumably something in the 15 to 18 ballpark) would be a comparable call. It would also be a mis-description of ...
Reserving Rights
Rewording was recommended to at least some members of the WBFLC prior to the 2007 revision, but I have no way of knowing whether the issue was considered.
Reserving Rights
It's perhaps worth mentioning that the 1975 Laws were the version in which handling UI via score adjustment was first introduced. Prior to that, "using UI" was a conduct offense and therefore rarely redressed.
Ruling?
Sorry, let me try to be clearer. Suppose East had the Q, having ducked the first round. After the revoke is corrected and dummy's play is changed to the J, can East now play the Q? In other words, has East's original low club _already_ become a major ...
Ruling?
I agree with Ed up to "East may change his play as well." L62C2 says that East may withdraw his card but that it becomes a penalty card. Neither L62C2 nor L50B is explicit whether the penalty card is major or minor, but "exposed through deliberate play" seems closer to ...
Law on Bidding after Pause
It's worth keeping in mind that "normal tempo" depends on the auction. If it goes 1S-P-4S-5H- to me, I guarantee my action -- whatever my hand looks like -- is going to be a lot slower than it would have been if RHO had passed. In the OP auction, RHO's ...
.

Bottom Home Top