Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Steve Robinson

Steve Robinson
Steve Robinson
  • 2
    Following
  • 77
    Followers
  • 11
    Posts
  • 7
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 19, 2011
Last Seen
14 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Pro
about me
I worked as a programmer til I retired in 1996. I've been married since 1976 and have a daughter 32 years old.

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
tearing up and playing 9 diamonds when playing in my club void
Bridge Accomplishments
winning Rosenbloom in 1986
Regular Bridge Partners
Peter Boyd
Member of Bridge Club(s)
washington bridge league
Favorite Conventions
Cole
BBO Username
robinswr
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
"I always ask"
If this was in ACBL land, what I would have done is to call the Director when I found out what the 2diamonds opener meant. It is certainly a mid-chart convention and requires a pre-alert and an ACBL legal defense. You're not allowed to make up your own defenses ...
Delayed 2S by opener show extra or possibly weak 6??4 ?
pass if partner bids 2hearts with #1
Delayed 2S by opener show extra or possibly weak 6??4 ?
I'd rebid 2clubs with both of the following hands Q10xxxx/x/Ax/AJxx. If partner passes 2clubs I'm happy. If partner bids 2spades I'm happy also. Q10xxxx/A/Ax/AQxx. If partner passes 2clubs, we don't belong in spades. If partner preferences spades, I'll raise
Should Michaels require an alert?
its very simple. Whenever, the opponents make a direct cuebid always ask. If you always ask, then there can't be unauthorized information between you and your partner. Cuebids are self-alerting bids. I'm consistent because I ask the meaning of most early alerts so I can follow the auction ...
1!s vs 2!s after Neg X
After 1Minor - (1heart) - double - (Pass) 2spades shows 11-14 with four spades and 1spade shows three spades It's as if the auction went 1minor - (1heart) - 1spade - (pass) - 2spades Same after 1club (1diamond) - double (Pass) 1major shows three 2major shows 11-14 with four. Bidding this way makes overcaller have to continue ...
Overcalling 1NT with a singleton
I'd overcall 1NT every time. There's a rule that says you can't open 1NT with nine HCP. There's no rule that says you can't overcall 1NT with a singleton nine. There is no way that partner could ever make a bid that would show knowledge ...
Appeal from Kansas City
Are you supposed to ask about every bid just to make sure that it's what you expect and not some artificial bid that wasn't alerted?
Defense against 1N-(2N)
After double of 2nt, next double is penalty. If you bid a major you have the other major
How do we avoid this disaster?
From AJ96 or AJ76 you return a higher one since you know declarer has four
How do we avoid this disaster?
South should return the six of clubs. Leading back original 4th best is not correct and is often unreadable. You should lead back an attitude card. If South had only four clubs, he would know that declarer also had four clubs and should lead back a highish club. When the ...
.

Bottom Home Top