Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Steve Bloom

Steve Bloom
Steve Bloom
  • 16
    Following
  • 179
    Followers
  • 93
    Posts
  • 77
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
May 27, 2010
Last Seen
12 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me
Retired mathematician and general curmudgeon.

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
I once got nailed by a real-life rueful rabbit.
Regular Bridge Partners
Betty, my one and only.
Favorite Conventions
Transfers, of many, many breeds.
BBO Username
sbloom
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
ATB Missed Game
When I have an easy hand to bid, Flannery makes life even easier - hide the four card spade suit, and bid to the normal contract. They have less information. Useful if partner is declaring, for the opening lead. Very useful if I am declaring. Hard hands are hard hands, no ...
Claim Ruling
I might well simply put my hand on the table and claim, with no further elaboration. If they looked puzzled, I would then say, "I'll throw the two spades, give you two hearts, and trump the last heart." But that is much different than claiming, stating "I will pitch ...
Suit Combination
So, when West has two in the suit, A, K wins in 9 cases (Qx, 10x, Q10). Running the nine (or low to the jack) wins in 11 cases. Either play is better than cashing the A, K.
Suit Combination
If we need five winners in the suit, only choice is low to the jack. I'll assume we need four winners. We always succeed if the suit is 3-3, and our choice won't matter if West has four. When East started with four of them, there are three ...
Claim Ruling
(1) The defense was not so outrageous. South should never shift to the spade nine, but had South tried the spade eight, the ambiguity would still be there. On the auction, North "knew" that South had only two spades, and would place South with 83 doubleton. (2) Even if the ...
Lebensohl or not?
Yes. P (2) P (P) X (P) 3 is invitational, playing a Lebensohl structure. Weak, here, simply means not inviting a game facing a passed hand.
Curoiser and curioser...
"How can you possibility tell me that your partner made a penalty double when you knew you held the ♣QJx?" Still beating a dead horse here, but while the phrasing of the question was poor, the question itself, and the anger with it, completely justified. "How can you possibility tell ...
Curoiser and curioser...
Alright, I play a big club, and if I held xxx xxx xx QJ1098, and heard this auction, I guarantee you that I would pass three clubs like a shot. Why? (1) The auction tells me that partner has a club void, but (2) Partner would never pass three clubs ...
Curoiser and curioser...
@Mike: I was being sarcastic. With a three-suiter, short in clubs, North would double three clubs. North's pass implied a strong notrump type hand (likely 17-19), and South will assume that North has such a hand. Obviously North might hold some other hand, but North also knows that pass ...
ATB Missed Game
That analysis has nothing to do with the correct response on this hand, since: (1) As far as I could tell, 1NT was not forcing, by a passed hand, and the two club rebid showed four or more clubs. (2) If partner has opened light, in third chair, then, since ...
.

Bottom Home Top