Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Shawn Drenning

Shawn Drenning
Shawn Drenning
  • 77
    Following
  • 24
    Followers
  • 138
    Posts
  • 42
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 14, 2011
Last Seen
7 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Austin, TX player.  Trying to get better.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
I have been on the cover of popular bridge publications such as the ACBL bridge bulletin
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Austin Bridge Center
Favorite Conventions
KISS
BBO Username
fuburules3
ACBL Ranking
Ruby Life Master
Sam Shawn
Copy to my cards View/Print
Copy of Basic 2/1 card
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Defending a “psych”
Ed: I would explain that 2nt is Ogust, asking me to further describe my hand. Frequently that is all opponents are looking for (the Ogust buzzword), but if it looked like they were looking for more I would tell them that it promises no particular values (maybe depending on my ...
Defending a “psych”
I would definitely disclose that 2NT does not imply values if specifically asked and would never explicitly state that 2NT is anything other than an asking bid. I try to disclose as accurately as possible, but to some degree against a pair that does not realize 2nt could be bid ...
Defending a “psych”
He said it was disclosed as Ogust, what else is there to disclose?
Phil Clayton's bidding problem: JT953 K2 T53 J73
If we had this same auction with partner in direct seat, partner could cue bid with 18-19 or so and three card support. Does the cue bid have the same meaning in this auction or does it shade lighter like the 1nt rebid? I admit I haven’t discussed this ...
Phil Clayton's bidding problem: JT953 K2 T53 J73
I would always transfer to spades with this hand if partner opened 1nt, but understand this sequence is slightly different. Are the passers passing primarily because they prefer partner declares or because (presumably) 1nt denies a big spade fit (tilting the odds towards pass) or for some other reason?
Double Standards
I'm curious under what grounds a TD would rule against a multi pair who pre-alerted and provided the required defense?
Double Standards
"So why did they fail to ask the all important question what about 3 spades?" Does this matter if they ultimately decided not to allow 3? Maybe some believe bidding 3 was so egregious it deserved a procedural penalty so the directors should try to establish that 3 ...
Trick 1 Pause, Platinum Pairs
@Ed By "when" I meant as on what hands, not at what point during a particular hand. My point (not well taken) was that 1. Certainly there are UI instances where most players would call the director 2. Even if I accept Ralph's premise, it is not clear to ...
Trick 1 Pause, Platinum Pairs
@Ed My main point in posting was to give an example where in my mind I was very clearly damaged if the 1NT opener had UI that responder had values. If Ralph and others are suggesting that I should not call the director here, then fine, agree to disagree (in ...
Trick 1 Pause, Platinum Pairs
@Ralph Recently my opponents had the auction 1NT* - 2NT** 3C*** - 3D**** 3NT * = 15 -17 ** = diamonds *** = denying honor third in diamonds **** = to play Responder of course had a maximum. Am I allowed to call the director here because I think there may have been UI from the tempo or am I ...
.

Bottom Home Top