Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Scott Needham

Scott Needham
Scott Needham
  • 8
    Following
  • 15
    Followers
  • 84
    Posts
  • 48
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Oct. 8, 2010
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Grew up in Kansas, and left as soon as was polite for schooling in LA. Thought I wanted to be a scientist. Huh.

\n

Learned K-S in college and played a bit at the old Wild Whist in Westwood. Then I moved to Steamboat Springs, Colorado, in 1978 and took the next 30 years off (with only sporadic club experience in the Denver area). Started playing regularly again in Boulder, Colorado, and played my first sectional and regional tournaments. Learned to love Bracket 2/3 KOs. Favorite tournament: Palm Springs. Much prefer 10 & 3 schedules. Worst bridge characteristic: Black Hole Moments when I leave the planet and do really stupid stuff, usually when declaring. 

\n

Former scuba diver, beach bum, general laborer, rocknroll bum/writer, ski bum, carpenter, bartender and tax lien investment fund manager. Currently, reformed (retired) lawyer, orphan, very happy husband, parental unit and grandfather. (Some have asked: The picture is a much earlier incarnation. Though he lurks close beneath the surface....)

\n

More personal disclosure than I have ever done. Weird.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Ruby Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
How would you rule?
a dumb, dastardly and distinct dereliction of directorial duty? Geez, guys, in an 11 1/2 table club game, I felt lucky to find 5. And -- sorry -- I'm not emailing Denver (nearest big town) players to ask.
How would you rule?
RR: Except that many seem to think that the factors require little weighing and/or that they would not believe me if I said "I was weighing the factors."
How would you rule?
I guess my point is: Doesn't E need to think about whether no games make? Seeing the actual layout makes bid, pass or double conclusions easy.
How would you rule?
Why not? partner doesn't know you got the nuts, and partner doesn't know opener isn't a 20 count.
How would you rule?
After I do all of this self-interrogation, opps have a valid case that I used the UI during MY 30 second huddle.
How would you rule?
John, is there any a priori reason N could not hold a freak like xxxx xxxxxx x xx? or xxxxx xxxxxx x x?
How would you rule?
All "actively ethical" and "unethical" commenters: When faced with the BIT and looking at a hand that was always going to take a call, while explicitly acknowledging the Laws effect of the BIT: Do you think that the strategy "take the call and let the director sort it out" has ...
How would you rule?
JL: Split -- though I agree (pre-agree) that continuous range would give E a lot more to think about.
How would you rule?
It's always interesting to me that arguments supporting opinions on these issues show so much variation in reasoning and the possible factual scenarios that drive that reasoning. For the record: 2 is and or . I was called immediately after the auction, and the BIT had ...
Flannery and the New Convention Chart
GB: You pays yer money.... KQJx AKQxxx x xx: 15count, 4 (conservative) LTC, looks like a reverse to me no matter what suits are represented (4cd always higher rank), even if the long suit is AKJTxx. KQJx AKQxx xx xx not so much, but 15count, only 5 LTC. KJTx AQxxx ...
.

Bottom Home Top