Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Nigel Kearney

Nigel Kearney
Nigel Kearney
  • 0
    Following
  • 11
    Followers
  • 108
    Posts
  • 1
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Oct. 2, 2010
Last Seen
10 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Live in Wellington, New Zealand. Don't play much bridge these days due to work and family commitments. In the past have represented NZ several times including a silver medal in the 1995 Junior World Championships in Bali. 

Country
New Zealand

Bridge Information

BBO Username
nigel_k
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Easier Than Eleven
Diamond at trick two definitely looks right because if West has the ace and did not open, you will know to play East for K. Also E/W hands on page 9 have wrong number of cards.
Waking up to your misbid on your own, before partner's alert
Realising your error without use of UI means you are legally and ethically entitled to do whatever seems best to try to recover from your misbid. The problem is you have no way to prove you acted legally. To the director and everyone else it will seem as if you ...
Misplace an Ace, or Two
That looks like a normal 2 bid to me.
That's Universal
I didn't tick any. The first three are obviously false. The big worry when balancing is that they have a better fit somewhere else, not that opener has a huge hand and they will wake up and bid game in the suit opened or notrump. The last one does ...
2 diamond bid weak
If there was no agreement that 2 is forcing, don't you think a 2 call on that hand would be a mistake?
15 seconds to the Bermuda Bowl
I don't like it either. But I can't think of anything better.
2 diamond bid weak
I don't see much evidence for or against any of those. What I do see is a law that says we assume mistaken explanation not mistaken call. No mistaken call means the 2D bidder was following their agreement. The only plausible agreement consistent with that is natural and forcing.
2 diamond bid weak
Of course it matters. The proper adjustment is based on what would have happened if the infraction had not occurred. If the infraction had not occurred, East would have received the correct explanation. In this case, if the correct explanation is "natural and forcing" it would be foolish for East ...
2 diamond bid weak
The law also does not say we should assume no agreement. The fact they disagreed at the table does not mean the sequence is undiscussed. Maybe one player forgot their agreement. This is very common. What would you rule if East asked about 2 and North said 'undiscussed' but ...
2 diamond bid weak
21B1(b): "The Director is to presume Mistaken Explanation rather than Mistaken Call in the absence of evidence to the contrary." Without such evidence, I suppose it is technically consistent with the laws to always assume no agreement whenever the bid and explanation differ. But I think the more natural ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top