Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Neal Smith

Neal Smith
Neal Smith
  • 1
    Following
  • 6
    Followers
  • 77
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 4, 2013
Last Seen
16 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

After 40 years as ACBL member, finally had time to play regularly starting in Jan 2013, and made LM June 2014.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Wins: Regional 0-20 pairs (1970s); D21 Flight C GNT, 1998; Phoenix (OR) Sectional Swiss, August 2013; Seaside (OR) Regional Gold Rush, Sep 2013; Sun River (OR) KO Bracket 2, May 2014; Medford Regional B Swiss, May 2017, Phoenix (OR) Sectional Swiss, September 2019.
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Phoenix, OR
Favorite Tournaments
Medford (OR) Regional, Seaside (OR) Regional, Sun River (OR) Regional
ACBL Ranking
Bronze Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
VISUALLY IMPAIRED BRIDGE PLAYERS
20+ years ago, Mike Levinson of Daly City played in and mentored my office lunchtime bridge game. At the time, Mike was able to see his own cards; we would orally announce the dummy's holding and each card as it was played. His teaching was fabulous for my ongoing ...
NABC+ Appeal Csae 2
What was West XX of 2? Good hand + support? Good hand, no support? Kinda makes a difference!
Frustrated with ACBL Live reporting during NABC SF
Qualifiers for the Swiss and Mixed Swiss are listed in the Sunday Daily Bulletin, which has just been posted https://cdn.acbl.org/nabc/2019/03/bulletins/db10.pdf For the Mixed Swiss, 58 teams Qed.
Convention Cards in NABC+ events
JoAnn, you’re saying they changed a call from X to 2? Hard to see that could ever be ok under the inadvertent call law. Sounds like a temporary system forget. Sorry you got a bum ruling.
Convention Cards in NABC+ events
I don’t understand people like that at all. I’d much rather have an opponent look at my card rather than ask about my partner’s call. Much less chance for them to transmit / take advantage of UI. This wouldn’t be the case with screens, which was the ...
"I accept"
Perhaps the most misunderstood law in bridge. One time when I was dummy, declarer, with lead in hand, called for a card from dummy. I duly placed the card in played position. My RHO said, "you're in your hand,", but too late, my LHO had already played to the ...
Bad Claim Case from San Francisco
Mike, you got the dummy and declarer mixed up. North declared.
BridgeWinners Golden Raspberry Awards 2019
Sorry, no beer when are trump.
BridgeWinners Golden Raspberry Awards 2019
How about an award for the best BW article / poll / bidding problem / intermediate article of the year? Call it the "BWinnies."
ACBL Reorg Fails by One Vote.
Therefore Kevin > JoAnn????
.

Bottom Home Top