Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Neal Smith

Neal Smith
Neal Smith
  • 1
    Following
  • 6
    Followers
  • 70
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 4, 2013
Last Seen
July 17
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

After 40 years as ACBL member, finally had time to play regularly starting in Jan 2013, and made LM June 2014.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Wins: Regional 0-20 pairs (1970s); D21 Flight C GNT, 1998; Phoenix (OR) Sectional Swiss, August 2013; Seaside (OR) Regional Gold Rush, Sep 2013; Sun River (OR) KO Bracket 2, May 2014; Medford Regional B Swiss, May 2017.
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Phoenix, OR
Favorite Tournaments
Medford (OR) Regional, Seaside (OR) Regional, Sun River (OR) Regional
ACBL Ranking
Bronze Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Reasons For Results
James, that’s American notation. You would likely write 4+1 instead.
Reasons For Results
Is west’s X Rosenkranz?
Follow-up to "What's the Correct Ruling?"
If there was a BIT, why wasn’t the director called to the table. Waiting until the compare is just asking for a dispute about whether there was a BIT.
Who Will Direct the Directors?
Little late to the party here, but I keep thinking about this board. From the OP: “Opening leader could have defeated the contract at a critical point later in the defense playing for declarer to hold only 3 spades. Instead based on the information he had received, he played for ...
Induce a Blockage
True if NS playing big club, but we aren’t told that.
Who Will Direct the Directors?
Thanks for the formatting assist!
Who Will Direct the Directors?
Here is the full layout. Round 17, board 5. North K95 J76 QT654 95 West. East T643. AJ2 K98532. - - AKJ3 T72. KQJ863 South Q87 AQT4 9872 A4
San Diego NABC Appeals Casebook with commentary available online
N4 - “West agreed that he erred; it had to be correct to play the King at trick four.” Wait. Isn’t this a standard restricted choice position? If so, finessing was correct. Doesn’t change the ruling, but what’s up with West’s comment and why didn’t anyone ...
How would you bid this hand?
Or passes. With 1-3 in the minors.
What should the selectors do?
Apparently that’s too sensible, or the question wouldn’t have been asked.
.

Bottom Home Top