Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Michael Shuster

Michael Shuster
Michael Shuster
  • 37
    Following
  • 41
    Followers
  • 48
    Posts
  • 90
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 22, 2010
Last Seen
30 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Pro
Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
psyching 1S vs NZ 2nd seat red in world play. Win 16.
Bridge Accomplishments
2nd O/A 1996 Dallas 2-day Swiss. 3 time USA Junior team member.
Regular Bridge Partners
Sam Dinkin, Alex Kolesnik, Andrew Kaufman
Favorite Tournaments
Fall NABC (MPs all the way!)
Favorite Conventions
Roman Jump overcalls. Direct cuebids showing 2 known suits.
BBO Username
shuster
ACBL Ranking
Emerald Life Master
Shuster/Kaufman
Infernal Machine Light
Copy to my cards View/Print
Shuster / Kolesnik
Standard American with Relay
Copy to my cards View/Print
Suggested Defense Against MOSCITO 1D and 1H transfer openings: Balancing seat
Just because the auction is hazardous to the opponents doesn't mean that the defense shouldn't have an option to bid in it. I'm sure you're a solid citizen and would never shade a 1NT response and I'm sure you'd never hope to buy it ...
Suggested Defense Against MOSCITO 1D and 1H transfer openings: Balancing seat
I thought 1 could be as light as 9 and has a range of 9-14. Passing 1NT shows 13-14?
Suggested Defense Against MOSCITO 1D and 1H transfer openings: Balancing seat
You should mention what delayed actions show. For example, what would actions mean here: (1) - Pass - (1NT) - Pass (Pass) - ?? If all actions show hearts, what is the difference between doubling, bidding a new suit and bidding hearts?
Can We Ever Play in Clubs
Board 2, if your style is to rebid 1NT (I prefer this style) you should also open 1 with 4-4 in the minors, so you can find either minor.
Where did East-West go so far wrong on this hand?
A 4-card raise says, "Partner, if they bid 3 and you happen to have responded on a 5-card suit, I'd like you to compete to 3." That is an awful message to send with 4x3 and two defensive trump tricks. The support double says, "Partner, please don ...
Rule this Claim!
Playing the Q at trick 1 is akin to a revoke. That the declarer at the other table revoked is not relevant evidence.
Where did East-West go so far wrong on this hand?
To be even more clear, it probably also doesn't make 8 tricks either. The path to victory is either 1) not opening an opening bid or 2) not showing happy support via 2 with a dead min and 4x3 shape with half the hand in the enemy suit.
Where did East-West go so far wrong on this hand?
No, Kokish would fail. E/W cannot make even 3.
Where did East-West go so far wrong on this hand?
East does not want partner competing to the 3-level with 5 spades, so needs to make a support double, not a 4-card raise.
Kibitzer draws attention to a false concession
In the team trials, many hands were claimed early. When I played them, at least twice we awarded an opponent an unclaimed trick and at least once we were awarded one. That's the kind of result that happens when claimer faces his hand upon the claim in an expert ...
.

Bottom Home Top