Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Marty Deneroff

Marty Deneroff
Marty Deneroff
  • 14
    Following
  • 3
    Followers
  • 1
    Posts
  • 23
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 15, 2013
Last Seen
May 22
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Half‑Baked?
I have played with many people whose bids show half a suit! :)
Should Michaels require an alert?
So I was told by a National; TD after an opponent did this and I called the director to find out if it should have been alerted. Your mileage may vary.
Should Michaels require an alert?
IMO, if it isn't natural and it isn't Staymen or Blackwood, it ougt to be an alert. But that is not what the ACBL rules say. You can solve any UI problems if you just ask what all cue bids mean, all the time. BTW, it also isn ...
Oren Kriegel's bidding problem: --- AKx KQJxx A9xxx
3 shows a hand too strong to accept a signoff with diamonds for me (3 would be similar with hearts). If pard bids 3 over 3, I will bid 4, showing a two suiter in minors. If she bids 4 over 3, I ...
Jacoby 2NT?
Still Jacoby and GF - specifically shows a hand that has upvalued to GF strength due to strong fit and useful shortness i.e. p-p-1-p-2NT you hold 4 spades, a singleton or void in another suit, and 10+ prime points (say Ax(xx) in one suit and AQx(x) in ...
Is that alertable?
Ed, for the agreements you stated, unless your definition of "unbalanced hand" includes anything with a doubleton, I think you understate the information conveyed in the given auctions: 1-1-1-1 - opener should have 5+ or is 4-4-4-1 with a singleton in a pointy suit; responder has ...
Would you have opened and if so, what now?
I generally have a firm agreement that if I reopen I didn't open light, so I pass, wishing I could double. I think that hurts us on this deal, but wins big in the long run because partner can trust me not to hang her.
Delayed Alert
YES
Is that alertable?
The auction discussed in the Alert procedure (1-p-1) is not the one asked about. However, ACBL directors have explicitly told me that there is no Alert, just the usual "FORCING" announcement for 1-p-1NT. Personally, I think both calls conceal important information from the opponents and should have ...
When can 1m-1M-2M be based on 3 card support?
What do you gain by raising with this hand? If pard has 5 and an invitational or better hand he will use NMF to ask you for 3-card support. Otherwise, 1NT is likely to be your best spot, especially in matchpoints. It will suck to play 2 in ...
.

Bottom Home Top