Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Mark Raphaelson

Mark Raphaelson
Mark Raphaelson
  • 4
    Following
  • 15
    Followers
  • 90
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Sept. 3, 2010
Last Seen
5 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Orlando resident in the hospitality industry, fan of horse (harness) racing, playing volleyball, softball, basketball, and of course bridge.   Enjoy discussions about bridge rules and rulings.  And I'm a sarcastic pain in the ass.

 

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Winning my wife's first gold points in an open event at her first regional. I had been teaching her and told her she couldn't play knockouts and that she had to "earn" her gold in open events. I also fondly remember playing with her when she became a life master.
Bridge Accomplishments
I haven't throttled any of my partners.
Regular Bridge Partners
Lance Marrou, Elliot Raphaelson, Paul Dennis, John Moschella, and Karen Raphaelson (when she was still able to play)
Member of Bridge Club(s)
I wouldn't want to be in any club that would have me as a member.
Favorite Tournaments
Orlando Regional, since that's about the only one I go to, and I like regionals better than nationals, as you get to play the top players more often.
Favorite Conventions
Game Forcing Stayman (transfer/schmansfer), splinters, penalty doubles of 1NT.
BBO Username
marklbetya
ACBL Ranking
Bronze Life Master
Mark and Tansu
2 over 1 with semi-forcing NT
Copy to my cards View/Print
Mark/Lance/Cab
Sub-standard American
Copy to my cards View/Print
Mark and Karen Raphaelson
Standard American
Copy to my cards View/Print
Double of 6NT
It seems like you have a meaning for double in this situation that says "make the killing lead". As long as your partner is familiar with this agreement, you should be OK :)
Double of 6NT
I think that since the standard meaning of X is lead dummy's suit, the double has to mean we are beating this if you lead that suit, even if it's not the suit I want led.
Double of 6NT
Maybe partner thought he was on lead.
What has partner got?
I'm giving partner the benefit of the doubt, and he decided to open 2NT with a stiff honor. K, AKTx, AQJTx, KQx
another "Where did East/West go wrong?" hand
If 12 high with minimal shape should now be accepting invitations, I better start inviting with 14 counts opposite opening hands. A 1 opener promises a doubleton somewehere, so at what point do you not open 1? 10? 11 is a minimum and 12 is good enough to ...
another "Where did East/West go wrong?" hand
It's not overriding partner's decline. It's forcing game with a hand that has invitational values but game-going strength that didn't want partner to get excited by overbidding 2/1. I think it describes the hand well, and partner should work this out, not feel "overridden".
another "Where did East/West go wrong?" hand
West is obviously blameless. East didn't do anything terrible, but I think with two aces, a singleton, and a known 9 card fit, pushing to game is worth it.
Law 23 Comparable Call
Wouldn't a call comparable to an insufficient call be another insufficient call? :)
Things happen
This RHO seems confused in a lot of ways. Even IF she thought she was borrowing a 4 card rather than passing, why would she have assumed the auction was over? And why would she put her hand down before she saw what CARD RHO has led? Or was ...
Was I injured
Mason's comment and problems of this sort always get me thinking. Are you obligated to trust partner and therefore work it out, or do you lose your rights to play bridge if you trust the explanation given rather than what partner promised?
.

Bottom Home Top