Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Linda Marshall

Linda Marshall
Linda Marshall
  • 3
    Following
  • 7
    Followers
  • 6
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 31, 2011
Last Seen
23 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I'm from the Washington, DC area.

In the past few years I've started going to most NABCs.  I've reached the stage where I'm disappointed not to qualify for the second day (I often get to the second day) and pleasantly surprised to make the overalls.

I'm the vice president of my unit and a frequent bridge volunteer.

I'm an attorney.  My other hobbies are dancing, hiking, and knitting.

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
I had a 60% session in platinum pairs once.
Favorite Conventions
Transfer responses to 1C, transfer lebensohl, xyz, flannery, reverse flannery, mini-splinters, kickback, Robinson (multi-landy), scrambling 2N
BBO Username
LMarshall
ACBL Ranking
Diamond Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
A Tale of Two Auctions
That's what I assumed it was.
What does double mean here?
Playing Flannery, if I were 3=6 in the majors then I probably raised to 2S rather than rebid 2H in the first place.
Do you care?
I find it kind of insulting to be complimented on routine things that I manage not to mess up. Other than that, I don't really care whether partner compliments me or apologizes. I probably say sorry too often (as a cultural matter, I know that everything is my fault ...
Curoiser and curioser...
In my one precision partnership, we make our BOP doubles (6-8 hcp, or 9+ with no suit to bid--with 6+ and a stack, pass and hope for a reopening double) directly over the overcall. This helps us sort out later doubles. What would a double of 2 have been ...
Curoiser and curioser...
Especially since it sounds like it could have made.
Curoiser and curioser...
I wasn't talking about from Steve's point of view. I was talking about from declarer's point of view. Steve had already shown the jack of clubs when declarer asked. The rest of the clubs that declarer and dummy didn't have would be long enough or good ...
Curoiser and curioser...
There aren't enough clubs out that your partner could have had the hand that wanted to sit for 2C doubled.
Claim ruling poll
On the third round of the suit, with 8x opposite K7x, it becomes obvious even if it wasn't before.
Responsive, penalty, or something else?
I don't think of it as a psych because the raise doesn't show anything in particular. The preempter isn't expected to bid again, so preempter's partner raises whenever he thinks it's a good idea to raise. His range is something like 0-14 hcp. He could ...
Responsive, penalty, or something else?
Playing this as a penalty double wouldn't just guard against psychs. People raise weak 2-bids with all kinds of trash (and sometimes with only 1 or 2 card support), and sometimes the best result available (if you can get there under your system) is to defend 3 of their ...
.

Bottom Home Top