Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Kit Woolsey

Kit Woolsey
Kit Woolsey
  • 25
    Following
  • 1330
    Followers
  • 487
    Posts
  • 63
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 29, 2010
Last Seen
2 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Kit Woolsey is a world-class bridge and backgammon player, analyst, and writer. His most recent major victory was winning the Cavendish Invitational Pairs in 2011. He was elected to the ACBL Hall of Fame in 2005 and lives in Kensington, CA.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Kit - Sally
Precision
Copy to my cards View/Print
On counting tricks.
I believe the "standard" way of teaching players to count tricks -- counting losers at suit contracts -- is detrimental to learning good declarer play. It is usually okay for hand with a long trump suit, but for more complex hands such as 4-3 or 4-4 fits counting losers will often cause ...
Is minus 2800 a fair ruling?
Since it is clear that West gave the correct system explanation, that means that North had MI. What would have North done with the correct information? Not clear, but he might well have passed. From his point of view East has to bid 2H, and the opponents could be in ...
How to play this grand slam?
The diamond discard is strange. Why wouldn't North discard a less revealing heart? At any rate it pretty well confirms that the king of diamonds is in he North hand, as North wouldn't be discarding a diamond without the king. It also pretty much confirms that North doesn ...
A new slam bidding convention to eliminate UI allegations
You say several? That is the only one I know of where the hesitation came after partner's unexpected call. In all the others partner's call could easily have been anticipated. In the case you cite, that was a freak occurrence because a player had made a mistake, his ...
Psyches - and fielding them
If partner has something resembling his calls (10 HCP, 5-4 in hearts and clubs), that means that: The opponents have bid this way with about 20 HCP. That is virtually impossible. Either East isn't close to his 1NT overcall or West isn't close to his redouble. The opponents ...
Foolish or Brilliant?
Even if East took some time at trick to plan the defense, he couldn't have possibly gone through all the analysis we have done here. Certainly he had formed a picture of declarer's likely distribution and the approximate hand. When it went jack of heats small small, he ...
Foolish or Brilliant?
Now you are grasping at straws. LHO opened a strong club, partner overcalled, and RHO made a game-forcing call. 4-card support and 13 cards are sufficient to raise to at least the 2-level and disrupt the enemy auction. The king of hearts has nothing to do with his call. If ...
Foolish or Brilliant?
Richard, You have made it quite clear that you don't like the duck, and you are entitled to your opinion. However, assuming the duck is in tempo and a defender doesn't somehow give it away, I guarantee you that declarer will be convinced that the heart finesse is ...
A new slam bidding convention to eliminate UI allegations
The problem isn't slow and fast bids in slam auctions. It is awareness of tempo-sensitive situations and preparing in advance. For example, suppose spades are agreed and you choose to make a slam move with a 5 call. If you take a long time to make this bid ...
Foolish or Brilliant?
If that is declarer's hand, on the trump return (after the safety play of ace of spades and spade to jack) declarer can take heart finesse, ruff out the king of hearts, back with diamond ruff to good heart, and take club finesse (with will be a 4 to ...
.

Bottom Home Top