Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Kit Woolsey

Kit Woolsey
Kit Woolsey
  • 25
    Following
  • 1284
    Followers
  • 449
    Posts
  • 63
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 29, 2010
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Kit Woolsey is a world-class bridge and backgammon player, analyst, and writer. His most recent major victory was winning the Cavendish Invitational Pairs in 2011. He was elected to the ACBL Hall of Fame in 2005 and lives in Kensington, CA.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Kit - Sally
Precision
Copy to my cards View/Print
1n-(3m)-x
We play it is a transfer to next higher suit, could be weak or strong. 3-level bids below 3 are also transfers. 3 is a negative double.
Which diamond do you return?
FWIW, my agreement (maybe it is just an agreement with myself) is to never return the second smallest spot card from an original 5-card holding. Partner always seems to find a way to go wrong when you return that spot.
Another claim problem
I know that. I'm not suggesting it is a particularly great line of play. I'm just pointing out that discarding a diamond is something which could occur to declarer if the hand is played out.
Another claim problem
Discarding a diamond on the last club might be not just careless. Suppose East returns a heart, and declarer decides that West has the diamonds guarded and East has 5 spades and the king of hearts. If that is the case, discarding a diamond is the only way to make ...
Which diamond do you return?
Sorry, I had missed a spot and thought that partner's lead was known to be from a 4-card suit. Since partner could have 5 diamonds, then I believe returning the 2 on the actual hand is even clearer. With 5 diamonds, partner will always go right after you return ...
Which diamond do you return?
I think the key question is: What would you return from an initial holding of Q832. I think the answer is that you should return the 8, since you would know from partner's fourth best lead that you don't want diamonds continued. Given that, the return of the ...
Director question
Down 1. It never occurred to declarer that he could recover if the spades were 4-0. He had decided he was going to play AK of spades. He might not have even noticed that East had discarded, since his mental state was clearly that he would play AK of spades.
Did the Director get it right?
Jeff is quite right. Players make mistakes, and coincidences do happen. Once I had some flattish hand with a king and a queen and a 4-card major, partner opened 2NT, and I had to decide whether to bid Stayman. I remembered having the same problem the day before. I checked ...
Stuff about appeals that some people may find boring
Of course there has to be some threshold. What that threshold is would have to be judged on a case by case basis. Putting it loosely, the bid in question would have to be a "reasonable" call. On this deal, if West knows that East has shown spades with his ...
Precision "Pass and Pull" (Part one)
Opener's double would be takeout? Since when. You are in a force. Unless you are playing some kind of pass/double inversion, opener's double would be penalties. Opener's pass is a normal forcing pass. If you are playing pass/double inversion where opener's pass requests double ...
.

Bottom Home Top