Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Torrey

John Torrey
John Torrey
  • 7
    Following
  • 16
    Followers
  • 187
    Posts
  • 14
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 28, 2011
Last Seen
59 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Director
about me
Semi-retired as ACBL director after 16 years. Still thinking and writing about the game; no "full time" partnerships
Country
Un

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Three and a half articles by me were published in the Bridge World (1990s). My Bridge Cartoon is st
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Triangle BC, Durham NC
Favorite Conventions
Astro
BBO Username
jtxyzzy
ACBL Ranking
Gold Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Ruling on opening 1NT with small singleton (ACBL)
*Under the new ACBL restrictions on opening 1NTs*, Ed is correct, down to his, "...just leave your judgement at home." In ACBLscore it would be reasonable to give the 1NTers a score of "q9", which means "score for 90, but no more than 40%." other side gets the reciprocal. Other ...
common game section C E/W field blanket finish
I recall a 3-table club "Swiss" with 20-point VP scale, where each team played the other 2 twice. Winner had 41 VP, second 40, third 39. I'd think that Barry's is less likely.
Education Via the Scorecard
A hypothetical case: NS played 1NT and made 4 when West had MI and made an unfortunate lead. The Director determines that with a normal lead, declarer would make either 2 or 3: both equally likely. NS can't make more than 3 clubs or diamonds without a huge defensive ...
You be the Comittee .
There is a way in ACBLscore to directly enter the desired matchpoints. On the line where you would normally put the raw score ("48" for NS + 480, for example) instead first enter "S" (for Special, I think). Then for NS enter Mx, where x is the desired NS matchpoint score ...
You be the Comittee .
I agree with Peg that 4 making 6 is the best adjustment. But I disagree that a director or committee should consider, in assigning an adjusted score, whether offenders or plaintifs observed correct procedure. If there had been another table in this event with the same auction, at which North ...
Is the auction over?
After South's pick-up, it would be a good idea for West (preferably, though North or East might also serve) to announce the apparent contract, perhaps "2 Spades doubled by South?" If South objects to this the auction is not over. If there is no announcement the problem may not ...
A Psych Story
I was going to say that it was clearly Art's fault for not making an insufficient bid at some point. But there was too much chance that someone would take me seriously.
Ruling help
Suppose the director suspects that South's reasoning in saying that she would double 2 if only she had the correct explanation is specious. There are still good, practical reasons to roll the auction back. First, South is allowed to reason poorly: if given the correct information, she would ...
Ruling help
Let's leave aside the question of whether North can ask questions for South's benefit. (He can't, as I understand it, but did have the right to ask, especially if he thought the announcement was not appropriate.) The director's opinion of a player's at-the-table reasoning probably ...
Contract Bridge
The available contracts are the same ones I used in my version of mini-bridge when I was teaching beginners. (I made sheets of North & South companion hands as an exercise in contract-picking. My conclusion from this effort was that the single most important thing in teaching bridge is to get ...
.

Bottom Home Top