Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Larkin

John Larkin
John Larkin
  • 0
    Following
  • 0
    Followers
  • 0
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Sept. 5, 2016
Last Seen
7 hours ago
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Fargo & Bridge
I wasn't convinced that the episode titles' relationships to the episodes' plots did suggest possessing a deep knowledge as much as possessing a book with an extensive glossary.
King Please or Thank you?
To be fair to RHO here (whose behaviour with touching the card is totally wrong), if he hears "king please" - he may not realise that he has heard this erroneously (accents?). AS far as he is concerned, the king is played (despite some of the things you state above). If ...
Very Unlikely
Hi I think this might be a UK vs USA divide. Alternative vs Alternate was my point. In UK, first means an option.....technically only one....and the second is an oscillation between one thing and the other. I'd noticed your alternate universe in past, but didnt want to ...
King Please or Thank you?
Is the suggestion that dummy knows the king is a mistake, while declarer doesn't? At trick one? Default position would be to take as "thank you". However. RHO may have, in view of screens, had the only good hearing of the call. If it was "king, please", he would ...
Very Unlikely
MR.: can I clarify for future reference.... is it an alternative universe that you often refer to (a USA-thing?), or is it indeed an alternate universe where things change from one thing to the other, day by day?
ACBL Bulletin Ruling the Game column - adjusted score or not?
To be fair, advancer doesn't need to pretend - since the law is explicit that law 16D does not apply. However, the TD, in trying to adjust may hypothetically try "pretending" it didn't happen. Also, since the insufficient bidder may believe they are opening 1spade, that may include hands ...
ACBL Bulletin Ruling the Game column - adjusted score or not?
Not sure I understood all of this, since partner wouldn't even consider going slamming when silenced after 4S or 3NT.... so I may have lost track.
correct director call
So the "Mom!" One is basically, "AW, REF?!"
correct director call
Agree. I think more info is needed here to explain the scenario. Is the insufficient bid genuine, or a typo? Was there a reason to think RHO had bid? A hesitation, or a comment? I suspect somewhere there is a mistake or omission in the post.
Very Unlikely
ER : I suppose the suggestion is that UI can be replaced/"overruled" by AI.
No followers yet
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top