Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Ian Casselton

Ian Casselton
Ian Casselton
  • 0
    Following
  • 0
    Followers
  • 16
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Dec. 27, 2016
Last Seen
10 minutes ago
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Fourteen winners, one loser
Hi David. To simplify, Frances logic appears to be that 4 is a "Last Train" type slam try because there is no other way to make a forcing bid supporting spades. I would question this, as it is seemingly premised, amongst other things, on 4NT being natural. My view ...
Fourteen winners, one loser
In short, Richard. 2 does not promise 6 spades (or even a good five necessarily) in many, perhaps most, classic 2/1 methods. Ian C
Fourteen winners, one loser
Hi Kit. Whilst I'm an either 1st/2nd round control guy (with Kickbo/Turbo to follow), I would expect 4 to show a control. If you tried to formalise it into a rule, how would you describe that 4 doesn't say anything about clubs, e.g ...
Fourteen winners, one loser
Hi Jeff. For your second point, do you mean 1 2 2 3 3 5/5? If so, what would you be intending by each of the two options? Ian C
Fourteen winners, one loser
Hi Richard. Frances' 3 suggestion was in a different context. She may have bid it in anyway, but that is unclear. I quite like the idea of a 3 preference from opener on the 3rd round, but they would nevertheless be worried about never having got the spade ...
Fourteen winners, one loser
Hi David. I must say that this view seems alien to me - in terms of both general principles and pragmatism (see Ian G's take above). Why do you believe it so? Ian C
Fourteen winners, one loser
Yes, Frances. I think the agreement that a 2NT rebid, showing a 6 card suit (which has gained some currency in recent times) works well here. It might also lead to 3 over 2NT from South, after which 3 would be a more forward going action than in ...
Fourteen winners, one loser
Thanks, Andy. Do you think responder might be worried about trumps? But, I agree of course, if responder ventured 4, there is a much stronger chance of getting to slam (and the best slam). As a side question, should responder venture 4 in an auction such as this ...
Off the rails yet again
Hi All. It seems to me that "no Kickback in a shown suit" is a pretty easy agreement to implement - and would have worked here. The only thing that really needs discussing is the addendum to the rule - after minor suit agreement, do you go up the line until you ...
Precision - NT ranges w/o Kokish 1!H and w/o 2NT strong/balanced?
Hi Eric. My advice (which is not a direct answer to your question) is if you can get a solution which blends elegantly with your current/preferred methods, then go for it, but don't bend them too much to do so. Strong 2NT openings, whatever the range, are infrequent ...
No followers yet
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top