Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Franco Baseggio

Franco Baseggio
Franco Baseggio
  • 13
  • 37
  • 25
  • 0

Basic Information

Member Since
July 21, 2012
Last Seen
4 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Personal: twin dad 

Professional: statistical arbitrage

Bridge: impractical. 

United States of America

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Platinum Pairs 1st
Regular Bridge Partners
Andy Stark
Favorite Tournaments
Team Trials
Favorite Conventions
reverse western cuebid
BBO Username
ACBL Ranking
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
What signal here?
Take it a step further and make high suggest the more obvious shift and middle for the less-obvious.
What signal here?
I often play “never suit preference at trick one”. Would have worked fine here, and avoids many disasters. I was a little disappointed this wasn’t about the Foster Echo.
Roadhouse Blues
Yep. With that card this plays as a clash squeeze. Not strictly necessary as it can be played as a compound, but the clash menace is very helpful at single dummy.
No IMPs at stake
Maybe not. I previously thought I had refuted this, but I think ruffing high works. Play a diamond and RHO must win DK to play clubs, with LHO planning to ruff CA and play a 3rd heart. Any other defense allows you to draw trump and get 3 spades. But ...
No IMPs at stake
Pitching on the heart doesn’t seem to work, though it would be cool if it did. Neither does ruffing low to play clubs. I think I’m all the way back to the drawing board.
No IMPs at stake
I’m probably answering too fast here... how about ruff the heart low, play a low diamond to K, duck one club, then cover and ruff. If they exit a diamond, I can play a club and get home. If they play another heart I must ruff. RHO will shake ...
No IMPs at stake
I see: after we ruff the heart, play a, diamond to k and they ruff the a, _now_ a 2nd spade locks us in dummy. Had we played 8 or 7 we could win in hand to draw trumps.
No IMPs at stake
This is my solution, which could easily be wrong and hasn't been checked with DF, but nevertheless stop reading if you fear possible spoilers. I think this is a make. The mistakes were 6 instead of 8, failing to tangle entries with 9, and then playing q. Having done ...
No IMPs at stake
Do you mean before or after the 2 shown tricks?
Guard Squeezes Simplified, Part I
Yes, the compound can always be made with accurate card reading, and the guard might fail. If playing for the guard ending: When West has both diamond honors, you often still succeed on a pointed suit squeeze. When _East_ has both, you might misguess at trick 12 and take a ...

Bottom Home Top