Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Frances Hinden

Frances Hinden
Frances Hinden
  • 0
    Following
  • 152
    Followers
  • 97
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
May 27, 2014
Last Seen
2 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I'm based near London, England and fit as much bridge as I can round my day job working in corporate treasury. I'm also vice-chairman of the EBU Laws & Ethics Committee. I play a complex system but find defence and declarer play more interesting than 'assign the blame' bidding problems.

Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
Twice winner of the British Gold Cup and the Camrose, won the English Premier League and the Spring Foursomes. I sometimes play on the English Open team and reached the QF of the 2016 Olympiad
Regular Bridge Partners
Graham Osborne, Jeffrey Allerton
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Wimbledon
BBO Username
Finch
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Implicit private understanding?
Almost completely off-topic, but mildly amusing: A few years ago I played a KO match in an early round of an event against a much weaker team. In the room where our table opened the bidding, the auction on one board was: 1 dbl 3 3 Pass ...
Should we have taken the push?
Well it's hard to say what people should or shouldn't do after the first round of the auction, because in my opinion - South shouldn't pass 1. I find it hard to give an opinion of 4 because I don't think South should have given ...
Any problem with the second tanking?
I gave this auction to someone last night who does play Wolff sign-off in one partnership, and he said it's really unclear what it means, because it depends on the rest of the agreements, in particularly what is opener supposed to do with 4 spades and 3 hearts? Can ...
Ruling on opening 1NT with small singleton (ACBL)
In the EBU the rule for an illegal agreement is: "If a pair play an illegal agreement then the board is completed. If their opponents have a 60% score or better, or have gained 3 IMPs or more, the result stands unchanged. Otherwise, the result is cancelled, and the board ...
handling interference over our 1NT opening
I am not sure what you are trying to achieve with this thread. You have posted what your methods are. When anyone so far has suggested alternative treatments, you have replied saying you don't agree/don't want to play them. Are you simply trying to get people to ...
handling interference over our 1NT opening
As for the questions in the original post: - We like to play 2NT as non-forcing scramble. That is, it shows doubt about where to play (no 5+ card suit) but also has length in spades so responder can pass it. I'd bid 2NT on this hand as South, but ...
Is this the correct ruling?
I'm also completely lost as to what happened, but if the defence took the first two tricks without anyone revoking, declarer now can't make more than 11 whatever penalty is applied.
How do you play this double?
I think it's usually short clubs. A hand that wants to bid 3 but is doubling in case partner has a singleton heart and some club length. I agree with another poster that it's a bit different when opener was fourth in hand, because responder isn't ...
How do you play this double?
"Action" - both offence and defence
Implicit private understanding?
I'm not Francis H which may be why I don't know the answer. It depends on (i) what shapes systemically open 1, (ii) what your NT range is, (iii) how light and how heavy you open unbalanced hands with clubs, (iv) if you are playing a natural ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top