Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Esko Pikataival

Esko Pikataival
Esko Pikataival
  • 8
    Following
  • 8
    Followers
  • 17
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 10, 2011
Last Seen
6 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I have represented my country in our national team multiple times. I have been a member/chairman in our national laws committee (tasks including, but not limited to, the supervision of translation of laws 2007 and 2017).

Country
Finland

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Finishing a slam board in a restroom with my screenmate Peter Schaltz without involving the other side of the screen at all. See http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/quo-vadis-3
BBO Username
bagman, epika
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Cuebid swap?
Try https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Useful_space_principle The idea of using transfers/swaps is not exactly new and is often referenced as USP according to the Jeff Rubens article.
Playing Double Dummy in the Vanderbilt
A long time ago I was playing against a pair, which currently isn't welcome to all tournaments viz. AZ and CB. My partner opened a weak NT and I used NF Stayman 2. AZ (my screenmate) doubled and partner redoubled to show clubs. After three passes AZ expecting ...
Is my 1!D opening legal (EBU)
Based on 7A3 you need the rule of 18 for 1st/2nd seat SUIT opening and 9hcp with 4432 or 4333 do not satisfy the rule of 18. 7A3 specifically seems to apply to suit openings and 1 is a suit opening even if it is NT surrogate. Note ...
ATB missed slam
RR: AFAIU, I was not suggesting that 3 was the call to be made and if you read my comment just above, you would have noted that I bid 2 in the same position (I happened to play in the same tournament). I was trying to suggest what ...
ATB missed slam
I think that many of us would be happy if she would call for a game. Sometimes things just don't go as planned; here she might have been a bit afraid of the trump quality after the 3 call and using the brakes at the wrong time caused ...
ATB missed slam
We bid this using 2/1 simply 1...2 2...3 (2 was either 6+ or 5 cards but not 2NT call) 4NT..5 5NT..7 After partner's 3, I sort of showed my cards by RKCB followed by 5NT and ...
Was this a fielded psyche and is the psychic bidder allowed to coach his client when the director is called?
Psyching is legal. However, regular psyching in the same partnership creates a partnership understanding, which must be disclosed. In some jurisdictions certain partnership agreements are not allowed. If EW are a regular psyching partnership, 1 response should be alerted and described along the lines what it has shown in ...
Forcing Pass or what?
IMO, opener's normal options are pass and double. Opener can bid 5 with an exceptional hand with high offense and low defense e.g. no A and void. Opener's double should indicate willingness to defend. Pass just tells that "you redoubled so follow up your plan ...
What do you make of this?
Based on your description in the initial post, your opponent was following the procedure as it is written. However, the correct procedure might result in UI. We have the laws to deal with UI but nothing in your post suggested that his partner had utilized the UI. As you stated ...
What do you make of this?
Your opponent was correctly following the procedure set by the bridge laws.
.

Bottom Home Top