Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Eric Dong

Eric Dong
Eric Dong
  • 25
  • 5
  • 24
  • 0

Basic Information

Member Since
Sept. 28, 2016
Last Seen
3 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Grew up and learned bridge in Hong Kong during 12th grade (2008) because only school bridge club members are allowed to bring playing cards to school. Brieftly after that I'm off from bridge for 5 years and on for bridge for another 5 years. 

Love bidding theories, strategies and systems. However, I was convinced that I should gitgud in bridge before thinking about creating a system/convention. So currently I am still trying to gitgud.


Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
When I first learned bridge when I was in high school, me and 3 other newbies joined the interschool bridge tournament, along with another team from our school which was much more experienced. The tournament consisted of a swiss round, then the top teams from swiss round go into double elimination. During the swiss round my partner bid 4S instead of 4D because somehow he thinks his diamonds are spades. We did not get doubled, contract goes down 3, we got a positive IMP. And at the end we barely get through the swiss round because of that game. Somehow the experienced team did not even get through, this gave me great confidence. "Maybe I am talented in this game." I thought. Then we proceeded to lose 2 games in a row in the double elimination round. Game Over.
Bridge Accomplishments
2018 CNTC-C Winner
Regular Bridge Partners
Johnson Zhu
Member of Bridge Club(s)
McGill Bridge Club, Le Mirage Club de Bridge
Favorite Tournaments
2018 CNTC
Favorite Conventions
Transfer, Inversions, Void splinter
BBO Username
ACBL Ranking
Non Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Major Disagreement with NT Interference
At matchpoint balancing position.
Ethical or not?
declarer had AQ though (OP mentioned playing x from dummy), I think declarer can play Q and take it back and then play the A, and claim that he mispulled. It's not good practice but if a championship is on the line I would do it. if AQ is ...
Ethical or not?
pretty sure declarer is allowed to correct his play if he realizes it fast enough.
Your UI ruling?
Might as well bid 4 if you have a 3.5 bid. For me, slow 3 demonstrates 2.5 and suggests S to pass. However 4 is LA, hence S bidding 4 is very ethical.
Assign blame
Playing forcing pass over 3, I play X as optional penalty. N with strong interest in penalty would have to pass 3. Therefore, S with shortness in facing 3X would decline penalty and bid 3. Serious partnerships need to have discussions on these situations. I ...
4NT Over a 4 Spade Pre-empt
Obligatory why is this not a bidding poll
A not-so-"minor" problem
Surely 2NT then 4 has to be a void right? jumping to 5 seems excessive
Stuff about appeals that some people may find boring
Any possibility that EW can get a 4 ruling? I see a possible 4 jump over X of 2 by W. With W's real hand and correct explanation on 2, W who has 5-3-4-1 with a singleton and presumably E is short in ...
You be the judge!
No way 4 would deny control. Some play 4 as last train and some play 4 as having control and looking for control. Either way, 4 shows control, and 4 denies control. Therefore, it is totally normal for the pair ...
Tablets with a table feel
Why? because you forget to bring a deck of cards but everyone has their phone/tablets?

Bottom Home Top