Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Ed Reppert

Ed Reppert
Ed Reppert
  • 9
    Following
  • 24
    Followers
  • 27
    Posts
  • 2
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 17, 2011
Last Seen
9 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Director
about me

Retired US Navy Officer. Know a little something about computers (was my secondary job in the Navy). ACBL Club director. Player. Systems: Mostly I play 2/1 these days, but I like Romex and Precision as well. Play mostly in clubs and local tournaments.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Conventions
Boston Jacoby.
BBO Username
Blackshoe
ACBL Ranking
Non Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Venice Bridge Tournament. Harris Pairs Withdraw.
Okay. What did CAS say then?
Venice Bridge Tournament. Harris Pairs Withdraw.
You're the one who used "view", Felix. What did [I]you[/I] mean by it?
Defending a “psych”
The rules of US jurisprudence do not apply to the game of bridge.
What is the correct call?
Further question: was declarer leading from dummy, following suit in dummy, or discarding in dummy?
What is the correct call?
You will know what to play when declarer clarifies his intention.
Venice Bridge Tournament. Harris Pairs Withdraw.
As I understand it, the CAS verdict didn't exonerate anyone. It simply said that the process by which FN were convicted was flawed. IANAL but I think the effect is that the CAS told the prosecution to try again. So far, they have declined to do so. That doesn ...
Defending a “psych”
[b]Law 16B1: [/b]Any extraneous information from partner that might suggest a call or play is unauthorized. This includes remarks, questions, replies to questions, unexpected alerts or failures to alert, unmistakable hesitation, unwonted speed, special emphasis, tone, gesture, movement or mannerism. Nothing in that law speaks to "always asks".
What is the correct call?
What was the form of declarer's verbal designation of the card dummy did not put in the played position?
What is the correct call?
Not sure you can legally do that. An ambiguous designation is an irregularity. Dummy is not permitted to call attention to irregularities. Much as it pains me to suggest that the law might be flawed, it seems to me that dummy must do nothing until declarer clarifies his intention.
Defending a “psych”
John: "Arcane" is a serious overbid. The meetings of the WBFLC are not secret or mysterious; the minutes of those meetings are publicly available. And the WBFLC has, I believe, stated that their minutes stand as interpretations of law, so whether they "failed to encode it" is irrelevant.
.

Bottom Home Top