Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Doug Couchman

Doug Couchman
Doug Couchman
  • 13
  • 10
  • 5
  • 0

Basic Information

Member Since
Feb. 25, 2014
Last Seen
8 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Once upon a time a part-time TD and semi-serious (well, I thought so) player and student of the game, I fell out of the swing of it (moving around a lot doesn't help) but have recently come back. Having a girlfriend who — somewhat to my consternation — is attempting to take up the game has helped.


When not playing bridge I tutor, preparing people for standardized tests. (SAT and ACT for undergrad admission; LSAT, MCAT, GMAT, and GRE for grad school.) If you or someone you care about needs help on a test, I'm your guy. See details on my website.

United States of America

Bridge Information

BBO Username
ACBL Ranking
Silver Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
How many spades?
One answer (at least) is missing from the poll: five clubs and four not-weak spades. I'm not sure what my answer is but I'm sure advancer has exactly four spades.
Flannery Alert and then . . .
Obviously it would be better if you didn't have to look up the applicable laws, particularly since they come up so often.
Bizarre insufficient bid
The insufficient bid isn't bizarre; the subsequent ruling was. Edit: Darn, I thought I had beaten Ed to it.
Flannery Alert and then . . .
As others have explained, you need to examine opener's rebid; some logical alternatives may lead to pretty bad contracts for E/W, including 4 doubled. One route is an immediate rebid of 4 by west, but I can imagine others. This bears careful thought. But beyond that ...
Hitchhiker revisited
Christopher, at the moment we use 2 as a two-way bid either inviting in notrump (no 4cM) or transferring to clubs (weak or GF); pard answers as if it's a balanced invite. 2NT is (usually) a transfer to diamonds or (rarely) weak takeout with both minors; pard answers ...
Unauthorized Information
@Yu: "You want to tell me that the beginner pair should call back the director only if they can actually articulate what were at least some of the LAs or wether the UI was used? " Nope. That's not what I said nor what I meant. They don't need ...
Unauthorized Information
Yes, Ed, you're right; there's no requirement that the non-offending side believe they were damaged, but in practice they'll call only when they think it's possible, and that may be fine. Yu: No. My point was that they call when they think the choice may have ...
Ethical problem
It’s not an ethical problem, it’s a legal one. A pause at trick one is normal, and in fact constitutes proper tempo; it would not give UI. A two to three minute pause (I seriously doubt it was that long, but I do believe it was unusually long ...
Hitchhiker revisited
Craig is right, and I’ve used this method to good effect with similar hands. Using second round transfers it’s easy both to stop in 3 with the hand in OP opposite a doubleton spade, and to investigate slam in either black suit. Ronald is also partly right ...
Your Opinions, Please
“We have no agreement” is the correct explanation a lot of the time, more often by far than it’s used. But sometimes, as here, the director needs to call bullshit. It’s quite possible that this pair hasn’t worked out reliably all the details of this sequence, but ...

Bottom Home Top