Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for David Burn

David Burn
David Burn
  • 1
    Following
  • 164
    Followers
  • 57
    Posts
  • 1
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 28, 2010
Last Seen
7 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

A bookful blockhead, ignorantly read

With loads of learned lumber in his head,

Fixed like a plant on his peculiar spot

To draw nutrition, propagate, and rot.

Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Member of Bridge Club(s)
TGRs Young Chelsea
BBO Username
dburn
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Why is it worth taking part in an appeal committee?
When did he do that?
Why is it worth taking part in an appeal committee?
You deny K. Partner bids a swift 6 and says "Your lead" to his RHO. There is a 100% chance that if you had shown K he would have bid, or at any rate continued to investigate, seven. When you denied it, he doesn't want to be in ...
Why is it worth taking part in an appeal committee?
Not sure my example was all that absurd - at least I'm not bidding Blackwood with two uncontrolled suits. Sure, a pair [i]might[/i] have a better way to bid 5-6 in the majors, but it might not; if you don't like it, change it to Qxxx AKJxxxx ...
Director call - have I missed something?
Quite so. For example, in Monopoly we could tolerantly let someone pass Go on the way to jail. Or in chess, we could tolerantly let someone move a bishop sideways. Games work to the extent that their rules are clear, easy to enforce, and consistently enforced. Since the rules of ...
Director call - have I missed something?
Applies in analogous situations - the player in Vilamoura who was supposed to play a slow king from AK was Stuart Tredinnick.
Director call - have I missed something?
"You should play in tempo." "Shan't. Not going to. Not perfect. Only human." "You should play marbles." Sure, none of us always does the right thing. But it's not too much to expect that a world-class professional player is capable of thinking "I'll lead a diamond from ...
Director call - have I missed something?
Indeed it was, as both Esko and I remarked, But it was an analogously absurd ruling.
Why is it worth taking part in an appeal committee?
Part of one's training to become a good solid player consists in not bidding Blackwood when there is a suit in which you lack second-round control. Maybe South thought that having two such suits was an exception to this principle.
Director call - have I missed something?
Well, you might try thinking "if he plays X I will do Y, otherwise I will do Z". Once your thinking has reached this highly advanced level of sophistication you might even imagine three possible lines.
Director call - have I missed something?
Vilamoura 1995. Declarer led low from QJ to several in dummy. Second hand played a slow ace. It was held that he should have played a slow king (or either card in tempo).
.

Bottom Home Top