Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Brian Platnick

Brian Platnick
Brian Platnick
  • 68
    Following
  • 146
    Followers
  • 7
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 16, 2011
Last Seen
4 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

In addition to playing bridge, I am currently a member of the ACBL seeding committee.  I have also coached 2 junior pairs in the program run by Michael and Debbie Rosenberg.  When not playing bridge, I spend my time trading stock options, chilling with my family, and traveling. 

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Winning the 2017 Spingold
Bridge Accomplishments
Won 1991 World Juniors, 2010 Spingold, 2017 Spingold, 2010 Rosenblum, several other 1st/2nd place finishes in NABC events. WBF World Grand Master,
Regular Bridge Partners
John Diamond.
Favorite Tournaments
USBF team trials
Favorite Conventions
Precision
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Does Meckwell ever sleep on the couch?
Richard, According to Kit, “Dave has what I call an "aces and spaces" hand -- control rich but trick poor. He needs trumps and fillers from partner. RKC won't do the job...” So how about K KQxx KQxx KQxx? But at the table, I wouldn’t bother thinking about it ...
Does Meckwell ever sleep on the couch?
AK Qxxxx KQx KJx
Bidding philosophy
Not clear.
Bidding philosophy
“In second seat you hear 1♥ to your right.” Barry, Please be more precise. Is 2nd seat where you were sitting when you heard 1H? Is 2nd seat the position from whence the 1H bid originated? If you listen as clearly as you write, is it possible that the 1H ...
Danny Sprung's bidding problem: K84 AQT6 K7 AK85
Sounds like partner has a weak 6-bagger and about 10-11 HCP. Passing could be right at IMPs, but doubtful at MPs. Responding to RKC is clearly right under the rule - don’t try to mastermind when partner has beat you to it.
World Class Players Signal Attitude
Barry, Given that the Granovetters book is almost 200 pages, I’m not sure why they call it the “obvious” shift.
How would you rule?
Tom Peters gives an excellent example. One could make the case that the U/I was a cause-in-fact of the bad result, but not a proximate cause. Just because there would never have been an opportunity to double 4S without the U/I doesn’t necessarily mean one deserves redress ...
How would you rule?
John, No, you are not done.
How would you rule?
I generally agree, except when east discarded on the second heart that should be enough to wake up South. Now had East discarded a diamond instead of a club ...
Thibault Wolf's bidding problem: 872 Q532 865 982
Richard, You began this discussion by saying that Pass was easy for you as that was your partnership agreement. Then you added that you would pass even without this agreement. When several of us pointed out that your agreement was illogical, you have argued: - passing is the disciplined action as ...
.

Bottom Home Top