Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Aviv Shahaf

Aviv Shahaf
Aviv Shahaf
  • 218
    Following
  • 86
    Followers
  • 105
    Posts
  • 62
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 29, 2010
Last Seen
2 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Teacher
about me

I have been directing and teaching Bridge for the past 20 years.

Head of Directors at the Honors Bridge Club in New York, running 5 section games most weekday afternoons

USBF Jr Program Mentor

Met my wife at a Bridge Club and we are raising two future stars.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Playing "Gulash" with Chagas & Branco in Rio
Bridge Accomplishments
third place at a club game twice!
Regular Bridge Partners
Igor Savchenko
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Head of Directors at the Honors Bridge Club in New York
Favorite Tournaments
WSOP Main Event
Favorite Conventions
Incision (Forcing Club system with very light opening bids)
BBO Username
Avivs
ACBL Ranking
Silver Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
A New Ethics?
Aaron, I disagree about case 1. usually this scenario happens when declarer intended to ruff low and simply did not pay attention to the fact that RHO ruffed in front of him. Paying attention to what your opponents are playing is a very important part of the game.
How would you rule?
Based on that pair's demonstrated unfamiliarity with basic ethics I would be hesitant to assume such level of sophistication with signaling...
Don't understand why Zia did that...
Not taking an initial discard creates the illusion for LHO that he started with Jxx and all but guarantee a cover of the J if LHO has the Q but not the Ace.
Everyday situation
It means the doubler expect Opener to Pass unless the reason for the initial double was "too strong for direct action". Example: The Double should be pulled to 4 if the initial double was made with AKQxxx x AQJx Kx
Is this offensive?
Still looking for the choice of: "If you open your mouth in such a situation in any way, you are offensive by default, but the opponents totally overreacted"
What am I missing?
What I think you are mostly missing is that Double might not be played as "Penalty" on this auction. What would you do with 2-4-5-2 and reversing values?
How would you rule?
It was a hypothetical John. I don't know the pair in question and did not intend to suggest they were playing anything other then what they tell us. My point was that a dishonest pair will always claim that the bidder was the one who "lost their mind" even ...
How would you rule?
John, why should the situation be treated differently dippending on which opponent had a "mind loss"? Why should a Pair that decided after their last session to switch from "Natural Preempts" to "Transfer preempts" be able to escape adjustment when they fail to make the change on their CC? When ...
How would you rule?
John, who said anything about Automatic penalty? Edit (add): I see that Mike C suggested it below. For the record, that's not what I'm advocating.
How would you rule?
Another prime example of Agreement Disruption. Maybe some day the law makers will realize that this situation should always be treated as Misinformation. West believed they had one agreement while East believed they had a different agreement. The fact that the laws make it always advantageous for that partnership to ...
.

Bottom Home Top