Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Anthony Taglione

Anthony Taglione
Anthony Taglione
  • 1
    Following
  • 2
    Followers
  • 3
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Sept. 25, 2015
Last Seen
5 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Something a lot of people seem to forget is that Bridge is meant to be fun.

 

Every hand an adventure, every bid a thrill!

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
"I always ask"
Don't get me started on UI in clubs. A week or so ago, I had an opponent alert a bid and, without asking or prompting, explained the meaning. She then looked at her partner for confirmation who nodded and said, "that's right".
"I always ask"
That's an order of magnitude greater than what most bring to a club night.
A ruling conundrum
One thing I've noticed about weaker players, the ones who'll happily reverse on a weak opener or overcall on a four-card suit at the two-level when you've not yet found a fit, etc., etc., is that each of them is often in a class of one, which ...
"I always ask"
I was in the same situation when I first started playing Precision. We'd have many alerts and everyone used to ask but, as time passed, people realised that they weren't learning anything much of relevance to them during the auction. We now are asked rather infrequently but we ...
Full Disclosure ?
I've done it on a nothing but cards in partner's suit, certainly white vs red.
Questions about 1N-2!s Range Ask
I have one partner I play it with, bearing in mind that we play a weak NT. For us, the bid shows 11 points balanced or a long minor. After 2, opener bids 2NT with a min and 3 with a max. Partner will then pass or correct ...
After a Quantitative 4NT Raise
All of the above, depending on the partner. I have no particular preferences other than keeping partner unconfused. With some partners, we use Gerber over a NT opening, with others, 4C would be natural with slam interest, so we use 4NT as Ace-asking.
The problem is bigger than the Stop Card
It's Bridge, Jim, but not as we know it. All this is common fare in club games but one expects a higher quality of director in a major event.
I think I played poker.
I think it was just what you should have done. If declarer isn't prepared to claim then he's trying to get some information from your partner. You could consider reporting his actions.
Can he do that?
I had something similar once. Partner led and everyone followed suit except declarer who then asked, "What are your discards?". His partner, dummy, pointed out that he was the only one who'd discarded. He then looked at his partner with a straight face and asked, "What are our discards?"
.

Bottom Home Top