Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Ambrose Mackie

Ambrose Mackie
Ambrose Mackie
  • 93
    Following
  • 11
    Followers
  • 25
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Feb. 26, 2013
Last Seen
45 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Favorite Conventions
One way reverse Drury, Weak 2D, support doubles
BBO Username
broze
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Mindful revoke
"What baffles me, after reading the Mindless Revoke thread elsewhere, is why you would play any other way." I think a fair few people on the other thread were clear on why they might behave differently.
Opponents remind you of your own failure to alert -- AI or UI?
Was it alerted and explained or simply alerted?
Opponents remind you of your own failure to alert -- AI or UI?
Completely agree with Mike. If the opponent doesn't ask and so do not learn the true agreement, they are already protected by the laws. But if we make the information UI then it will become best strategy to ask about every single unalerted bid the opponets make which is ...
Dominating Shift
This is what I thought as well. Or maybe he is giving reverse remainder count. Kit remarked in the article: "If partner had J10xx of spades he wouldn't have played the jack of spades on the second round, since your ♠8 would have been sufficient to force an honor ...
Petter Bengtsson's bidding problem: AKT4 8 AKT AK854
You almost had me convinced as it could be quite a nice safety play in case p has had to bid 1S on a three card suit but yes I think at this vul the pros don't quite outweigh the cons.
Petter Bengtsson's bidding problem: AKT4 8 AKT AK854
Deleted.
Atb on a missed slam
I would certainly pull a double of 4S (especially as I usually play double as basically takeout here). You have 6-7 offensive tricks and only 2-3 defensive tricks.
Atb on a missed slam
4NT is not ambiguous here. All blame to East
Ruling fron Eastbourne
Nice summary Paul, but I don't agree with your point (d) because I don't accept the concept of a "defective agreement". Imo you either have an agreement or you don't. I.e.: "West knew that the partnership agreement is to play what East has been taught." If ...
Ruling fron Eastbourne
Frances said: "alert penalty doubles of suit contracts below 3NT". From what the blue book says, it is not just penalty doubles below 3NT that should be alerted but also undiscussed doubles that might be penalty. I have been ruled against on this basis before which left a pretty sour ...
.

Bottom Home Top