Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Alan Frank

Alan Frank
Alan Frank
  • 48
    Following
  • 31
    Followers
  • 204
    Posts
  • 57
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 27, 2011
Last Seen
13 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Depending on where one puts the line between expert and intermediate, I'm on one side or the other.  I've played twice on the last day of an NABC+ event.  With two kids and a full-time job developing software, I don't get to play as much as I'd like.  I'm interested in theory, laws, & tournament organization; I've been involved in rulemaking for chess and Scrabble in the past.

My pronouns are he / him / his.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Criss-cross overtaking trump squeeze
Bridge Accomplishments
Overalls in Fall '09 NABC+ Swiss, 7th in '14 Fall 10K Swiss
Favorite Tournaments
NABC
Favorite Conventions
Fairport
BBO Username
af1211
ACBL Ranking
Silver Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Ethics, gamesmanship and the law
Peter: In this case, it was a team game with no hand records, so not an issue. But a good point in general.
Bidding a Singleton Four Times
I agree with bidding 6S at matchpoints, shooting for 7NT. Kit Woolsey recommends that with a source of tricks you respond 6NT; this allows asker to look for a better small slam even when there is a keycard missing.
The Un-Basic Menace II
Articles like this give us new hope for the future of bridge theory.
Dennis Bilde is 2020 Lazard Sportsman of the Year
I would love to hear anecdotes about Dennis's behavior that led to this award. (Lest anyone misunderstand, I am not questioning whether he deserves it; I am just personally unfamiliar with his history.)
Should we have taken the push?
A skip warning of whatever type is helpful to sleepy but honest players who might be looking at a yarborough and not paying enough attention to the auction to notice a skip bid unless it is pointed out to them.
Should we have taken the push?
My solution is to pay careful attention to North's behavior in the future over skip bids and call the director if there is an instacall.
Should we have taken the push?
Yes, it goes down on a heart (or spade) lead, but I think that with two tricks in her hand, North would tend to try to set up a third before declarer perhaps pitches club loser(s) on dummy's diamonds.
Should we have taken the push?
I agree with the first paragraph, but not the second. If South knows that North hesitates over a skip bid only with something to think about, then 4 might well have been influenced. It is N/S who don't understand the rules, not the voters.
handling interference over our 1NT opening
I am not sure about MR's second example (2NT after partner's second double), but agree on the first one, as intervenor can simply double again if he is eager to have partner bid a suit.
How will you play the trump suit
My original thought was that with a stiff heart, South might have made a takeout double, but we can be pretty sure that he has at least six diamonds (North would have raised with five diamonds, nonvul), so I will go with restricted choice.
.

Bottom Home Top