Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Ulrich Voigt
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 26 27 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 is a serious overbid. Partner will have length in spades, because no one bid them, and probably some diamond length as well. Something like Jxxxx xx Kxx Kxx wouldn't be surprising, and he can easily be weaker.

By the way, Kieran's hand has 15 HCP.
April 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That doesn't make them duplicate games. In a chess tournament, you have only one opponent at a time, you are not compared to everyone else in your seat.
April 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good luck explaining that to the director when he gave an adjusted score because you didn't alert.
April 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Artificial call: 1. A bid, double, or redouble that conveys information (not being information taken for granted by players generally) other than (or in addition to) a willingness to play in the denomination named or last named.”

That makes any kind of fit jump or fit non jump artificial.
April 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, there are TV shows with competitive cooking…
March 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Further, if hearts are 4-1, the opponents might have bid 5S or tried for slam. The fact they didn't weighs against playing for a 4-1 break.”

Not at all. Look at the actual hand. West, holding four hearts, has an obvious double. East trusts partners judgement. Which opponent should have bid 5?

So, because you would have played differently, you basically say declarer cheated. Ridiculous.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's quote Chthonic:

“I recommend Human Bridge Errors for intermediate to advanced players. This is by your species’ own deluded standards, of course. By my accounting, only Michael Rosenberg and Helen Sobel have ever achieved the rank of novice. The rest of you qualify as various degrees of beginners.”

(Human Bridge Errors, Volume 1 of infinity)
March 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nonsense.
March 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Certainly not.
March 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Someone who claims in this elaborate way instead of simply playing Q from dummy is not world class, at least not in this moment.
March 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, good point.

So I tried this hand:

North: K1074 Q963 AJ852 -
East: AJ852 K1074 - Q963
South: - AJ852 Q963 K1074
West: Q963 - K1074 AJ852

After 13 minutes, I got the following result:

“Unexpected Error: Out of memory: can't malloc more transposition table cells.”
Feb. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Try this specific hand:

North: AQ107 9642 KJ853 -
East: - AQ107 9642 KJ853
South: 9642 KJ853 - AD107
West: KJ853 - AQ107 9642

Contract: 1NT by South

My not-too-shabby computer took about six minutes.
Feb. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“I had a spade in with my clubs”
OK, but why did you open 1 with four diamonds and three (presumed) clubs?
Feb. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“You start by ruffing a ♦ and play a ♠ to ♠K which holds.”

I don't. I start by playing K from my hand.
Feb. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This strategem appeared at least once in the Menagerie books.
Jan. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
https://xkcd.com/378/
Dec. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is there a problem with reaching the occasional 3NT with 24 HCP?
Dec. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Hesitating will be deemed to be an infraction. That's it, simple.”

If you wish to create a game where thinking is deemed illegal, feel free to do so, but why do you want to base it on Bridge?
Dec. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Law 92:

An appeal shall not be heard unless both members of the partnership concur in making the appeal.
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you have the clear agreement that double shows the diamond ace, shouldn't the hesitation suggest that South holds an ace in a different suit, hence a diamond lead is explicitly not “demonstrably suggested”?
Dec. 2, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 26 27 28
.

Bottom Home Top