Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Thomas Berg
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Attitude - and only attitude.
I want to know who has the queen.
I can find the continuation from the bidding and dummy.
Jan. 28, 2017
Thomas Berg edited this comment Jan. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I studied mathematics in the midseventies I read Borel & Cherons book. I still have it and it is funny to open it inspired by Magnus article and read my handwritten comments. It seems I read the whole book very intense!:)

I changed study - and became a lawyer. But I have used my knowledge about probabilitys several times in court to convince the judges - and with good results.
Jan. 14, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry! I just discovered when looking for March 1979 issue that all my issues from 1975 to 1981 are gone!:( I have no idea how and when.
I have been a subscriber since 1971.
Dec. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think I got it!

I will check and let you know!
Dec. 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Which system do they play? 2/1 GF or Standard American or Acol or….? Is 2C GF?
Dec. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the diamond contract is doubled or redoubled you still earn a beer or two. Read the link to Wikipedia above.
Oct. 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We have had the beer card in Denmark the last 50-60 years. I got my first beercard beer (but for sure not my first beer!) in 1973. It was in defence against 6D redoubled one down! In trick 13 I took the setting trick with my D7. :):)

David is right. Only beer when D7 wins trick 13. And if you play D7 in trick 13 and do not win this trick then you have to give beer to partner.
Oct. 30, 2016
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Heart finesse running the 9.
Oct. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When partner give you a trump asking bid - then just answer!!

And do not ask Bridgewinners to justify your bid! :)
Oct. 19, 2016
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This South got what HE deserved.;)
Oct. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IMHO the essence in this case is not the different explanations but the wrong defence by E.

If correct defence no case!

And IMO N`s explanation must be correct because you can not force to game with 12 hcp. facing partners 11-17.

Too many “if” and “maybe” (to help E-W) for me to change the result.

And I am sure that I would have lost in AC with 3-0 - but I would never have called TD anyway cause S had the hand told by N. And TD would ask me “How was you damaged” and I do not have the fantasy to tell so many “if” and “maybe”. :) :)
Oct. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@ Ovunc

Did they play 2/1 or not?
Oct. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How can E be damaged when S had exactly the hand that N had told E??
Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or

1H - 2D
3H - 4C
4NT - 5C
6H.
Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Dave & Timo.

East DID NOT expect a GF+ in his LHO `s hand.

He was told max. 12 hcp and invitationally - and S had 12 hcp.!

What S told W is irrelevant and does not matter because E was by N told exactly S`s hand. This is what matters and is relevant! It was N`s explanation that made E double - not S`s explanation to W.
Oct. 16, 2016
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1H - 1S
3H - 4C
4NT - 5C
6H.
Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Dave.

I only comment the explanation that E got from N!

Because that is what matters.

The explanation S gave to W has no influence on E`s lead directing double.

S had exactly the hand N told E.
Oct. 16, 2016
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Timo

How can 2C show 12+ and GF, when 2NT shows max 12hcp.?

2C was not explained but 2NT was explained as max. 12 hcp. and invitationnally so logically 2C can not be 2/1 GF.
Oct. 16, 2016
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@ Steve

We CAN answer that question:

12hp. facing 11-17hp. can not force (gameforce?) by bidding 2NT.

So E did not receive MI!

It was W who got MI!
Oct. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can not understand how 2NT can be forcing. 12hp. facing 11-17hp.

So I think E got the right explanation. S had the hand E was told by N. So how can E call for TD?

W was told that 2NT was forcing. Would W have led a heart if told the right explanation? NO - because E`s lead directing double was based on the right explanation!!

Result stands - but:

“All animals are equal - but some animals are more equal than others!”
Oct. 16, 2016
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 16, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top