Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Thomas Berg
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is the same old story for more than 2000 years - if You do not like the message then kill the messenger! This is what some people here on BW is trying to do with Boye.

Aug. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would bid 1H ( except red vs. white ) and I lead HJ. Against NT at imps I always lead longest suit. It is only an unlucky lead when declarer has HQ. But still it can be right because soon you have 3 heart tricks. And here agressive lead is needed cause you know they have 22-24 hp so passive lead will very seldom sink the contract! So leading a club (from such a weak suit ) is against the odds - or you are clairvoyant!;)
Aug. 26, 2015
Thomas Berg edited this comment Aug. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well said, Sabine!
Aug. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even without a link - it can be true! There is a world outside Google/links!:) And I have heard this “story” 10 years ago- but with no links!;)
Aug. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I will take the SQ, play a small heart to K and then C10 from table! When E play C9 I will hope for clubs to be 2-2. But if E plays the C6 I will let the 10 run.
June 12, 2015
Thomas Berg edited this comment June 12, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes - Charles!:)
June 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well - if hearts are 1-4 so the lead was a singelton then I think finessing is the best play. Is there anyone who can calculate the odds?
I think the lead was a singelton so I let the D10 run! As the great norwegian author Henrik Ibsen wrote: “The strongest man is he who stands alone!”
June 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree! :)
Feb. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I win in dummy and play a club.
E win with A and play more hearts. I win in hand and play small diamond. If this is ducked I play CQ discarding a spade and then finesse in diamonds.
Winning first heart in dummy I can some times win even when W or E has 4 hearts.
Dec. 29, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If my partner bid on after my 3C - he will not be my partner anymore!!
Dec. 20, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play this situation very simple - when weak and do not want to be in game you just pass.

So all other bids are gameforcing. With Rons hand I just bid 3S. With 4-5 in majors I bid 3H and then partner can bid 3S with 4 spades.

Thomas Berg
Oct. 27, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play, that 1NT-opener ( when 1NT is 15-17) is supposed to have a club stopper.

So when responder bids 3NT 2C-bidder does not know if opp. have a stopper or not. It can be opener, it can be dummy or there can be no stopper - this does not make it easy for 2C-bidder what to lead!;)

This is VERY simple and believe me - it works fine! Why tell opp. everything and make it more easy to defend?:)
Oct. 24, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree 100% with Jeff and Dustin.

I have played several times during the last 7 years against the “doctors” - last time in Bali. And their health always got worse from time to time ( more and more coughing ) - they can not be real medical doctors!;)

First time I played them they could not sit still on the chair but had to move around all the time and touching pencil so often that I was sure they were sick - or cheating!

So thank you Donna.



May 30, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I will play the 9(8) and let it run.
Next time I will play J(8).
It looks like a double finesse for Q 10 and if East has Q single we even get 4 tricks.
I think starting with 9(8) is better than starting with J.
I have not calculated the odds and I do not have suitplay!:)

Thomas Berg
April 20, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played against Wladow and Elinescu in Bali on the danish senior team. I noticed coughing during 2 hours from the other side of the screen where mr. Wladow was sitting S. I was E. And it was for sure not my partner Geert Jørgensen who was coughing. Mr. Elinescu did not cough as much as mr. Wladow.

I do not know if they signaled or not - but every time during the last 6 years when I played against Wladow - Elinescu I noticed that specially mr. Wladow all the time was moving around on his chair, touching his pen etc. I once or twice asked him to relax but he just could not sit still. I never called a director. The danes are friendly people!:)

Thomas Berg
March 30, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my opinion this case is very simple.

The BIT by W take away from E some bids which he was allowed to bid without BIT. That is printed down in the laws. UNLESS E-W by showing their system notes can prove this was a forcing situation. This was actually not possible here.Then the logical alternativ decide if E can bid 4S or not. And there was a logical alternativ = pass!

All the explanations later on to TD and AC has no merit or value.

Yes - I am a lawyer for 30 years and have heard so many explanations in court. You have to prove what you say or forget about it. Thats the way it is and thats the way it has to be!:)
Aug. 16, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Did E really play club Ace at trick 1?

If he had played the K he can at trick 2 switch to diamond 6 and hope partner can solve the problem - but if E has played club Ace at trick 1 it is very difficult for W to play back a club at trick 3!
Aug. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am surprised that there can be such a long discussion about this case. E should not be allowed to bid 4S - that is clear cut! I will not play bridge in a world where you are allowed to bid 4S with that hand after partners BIT and after you already has shown some extra before partner bid 3S. Now bidding is over!
Aug. 10, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If declarer had KQJ of spades he would for sure play K and Q in trick 3 and 4 BEFORE leading H9. Declarer has to unblock the spades in case N returns a heart when in with the king.

So when E does not play the spades S “knows” in his 3spades world that partner must have the SQ. And partner must have HK to defeat the contract so what is left for declarer in Roys 3 spades world? That is easy to figure out. So then it does not matter at all which diamond he plays in trick 2!:)The defence will at least come to 2 spades, 2hearts and 2 clubs - or IF declarer has been tricky and played SJ holding KJx ( for some smart reasons ) then defence always will come to 5 tricks - BUT S must always remember to play HJ when 9 is lead. Cover an honour with an honour - even the small honours!

I think the ruling is correct according to US bridgelaw - but here in Europe the verdict would have been a split score of some kind - because defence was for sure not the best even in 2-3 spades world.

But still best congratulations to the Auken team. They played so well rest of the tournemant and deserved the victory. Here in Denmark we are very proud!
March 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with Henry.:)
Dec. 22, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top