Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Thomas Berg
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dear Olivier Collard!

What “contemptuous tone” are you talking about? “Kangaroo mob” or “lynch court”? ;)
Nov. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dear Olivier Collard!

The readers are just expressing their opinion about Roberto Ronconi. What is wrong with that?

Thats just democracy guy!
Nov. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Duck the club and hope to play hearts for one loser if E has the CK. Else W is endplayed!:)
Nov. 9, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We still have the freedom of speech and opinion. And this is what we practice here on BW.

We do not have “freedom of lynching” so we do not practice this on BW.

So please mr. Hanan Sher and mr. Reynolds - think over one more time before you accuse the contributors on BW being a lynch mob.
Nov. 9, 2015
Thomas Berg edited this comment Nov. 9, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What about ducking the SK? ;)
Nov. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dear Peter Jan!

I was joking - I was not insulted.:)

And I did not make my conclusion on this single example.

So - no offense!:)
Nov. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dear Peter Jan!

My conclusion he is cheating is based on ALL the examples shown by Kit and other bridge detectives. Not on only one example! Come on - are You trying to insult me?!
Nov. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dear Peter Jan!

Please explain to me why my statement is “ circular reasoning ”. :)
Nov. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If he was/is an expert he did not need to cheat! I do not regard him an expert - so he hoped for clubs to behave and come to 4 tricks and the 5 sure tricks in the other suits.
Nov. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dear Ron!

No-it is the other way round!

It is because he knows that partner is weak he uses 2 min. to think - and then he bids 3NT hoping for a miracle.

If he did not know partner was so weak then he would have bid 3NT in 5 seconds!
Nov. 6, 2015
Thomas Berg edited this comment Nov. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And the russians even put his( Abel not Balicki! ) portrait on a stamp in 1990!
Nov. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
According to my “Polsko - Angielski” word book both “rzekomy” and “domniemany” means “alleged”. The books are from 2009.

And my polish wife say the same! :)
Nov. 1, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Strange!!

Instead of giving relevant facts mr. Martens quotes a poem by Max Ehrmann!

I know some poetry too - but not relevant for this thread! :)
Oct. 31, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner and I signal were simple:

1.When partner leads an honor you show attitude ( UDCA ).

2.Or else only count ( UDCA ).

It works fine - and never any TD called for! :)
Oct. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is something I do not understand!

Mrs. Jessica Piafsky has stated and written several times here on BW, that the polish team was treated terrible by the other teams in Chennai. And even against this bad treatment they won. And according to Jessica Piafsky she is very close connected with the whole bridge world and specially the polish team.

And now I read (according to PBU) that most of the players and teams were supporting the polish teams decision to play!

And Jessica Piafsky still has to tell me and other readers if she thinks mr. Gawrys was cheating after partners hesitation 6min.26sec.

Reading her own definition of cheating mr.Gawrys was cheating!
Oct. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dear Martin!

So you prefer to lose this way - and being a very nice and popular fellow not following the rules!? For sure popular with your opponents! :)

And in my opinion declarer did not see the blockade!

Oct. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dear Christian!

But when you have been playing a hard tournament the last 5-10 days - then mistakes come just like in other sports! Because you are more or less exhausted.

And you are allowed as opponent to question declarers claim - maybe he was tired and made a mistake because of this!? Just like in any other sports tiredness is no excuse for making mistakes!

And you are allowed as opponent to take advantage of this - just like in any other sport!

Would you like to lose because of wrong claim from opponents?

So forget all the beautifull words about fair play! You can still give fair play without being naive!
Oct. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi David!

How do I/we know what is going on in the head of declarer? ;)
Oct. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IMHO you can never blaim any sportsman for following the rules!

But of course a sportsman is allowed NOT to follow the rules (and pardon the opponent) WITHOUT being blamed for that. This is what we most of the times call “fair play”.

The coin has two sides! ;);)

Oct. 26, 2015
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi BB!

In your example (soccer) the teams have made a mutual and well accepted agreement to wait until both teams are ready to go on. This we have seen during the last 20 years.

But in the 7NT there was no agreement to accept a wrong claim - probably because declarer did not see the blockade.

So there is a big difference.
Oct. 26, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top