Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Steve Tyer
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that in most cases, they have had this or that done against them. It seemed to work and they are interested in the allowability before trying it themselves. I don't think many are looking to test ethical boundaries.
Aug. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I will trust partner's 8 of 's and lead a heart before cashing my clubs and possible squeezing partner. Should get in with the J of to get my clubs.
Aug. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tournament heads, not the ACBL, need to make the host venue aware of what is expected. I cannot remember how many times I have gone out to a local restaurant to eat and they seemed shocked by the number of players trying to eat, sometimes quickly. All local eateries should be made aware that a large crowd should be expected so they can hire extra wait staff and cooks.
Aug. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner THOUGHT he was responding to a call showing a major 2-suiter. By bidding spades and hearts he must have tolerance for each.
Aug. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I do not see where East did anything unethical. Sure, their 2 call was a misbid, but when partner showed a tolerance for both majors East chose one.
Aug. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hard to see why it should be forcing when I have 1 and 2 's.
Aug. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West bid it because they never considered it would be misinterpreted. Granted, it is far from a perfect NT hand, but what would you do if you were SURE partner would take as a normal NT opening hand?
Aug. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West thought natural because even with 11-12 points on his left and 5-6 on his right, E/W can still own the hand with 23-24 points. Only question is where, including NT.
Aug. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tony, I totally agree. The rules are there and need to be followed, even by beginners. A new player does not get to travel playing basketball. A new player does not get 4 strikes instead of 3 in baseball.
Aug. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
UI from what? Did South hesitate over 4 Spades?
Aug. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Opener needs to ignore this information and bid as if responder had 6+. If opener rebids 1NT responder is allowed to bid 3NT.
Aug. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The Abbot, or Barry (Crane)
Aug. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since when does a 1 response deny an opening bid? I see nothing incomparable here, yet. Opener's rebid must allow for responder to have a minimum hand. No jumping to 4.
Aug. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have not used written bidding either, but I find it inconceivable that I wrote down pass when I meant to write one heart. Impossible, just an obvious loss of concentration. I can pull the wrong card by mistake, but not take the time to write it.
Aug. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am afraid it is the same old story. Better the devil you know than the devil you don't.
Aug. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The event does require qualification. Not qualified = cannot play - easy.
Aug. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Carol, yes I know things have changed. I was just commenting on what I thought it should be, not what it is.
Aug. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you pay per event entered, not per session or day. Playing in 2 events = 2 entry fees. You did not pay to play Wednesday afternoon, you paid to play in the Mixed BAM.
I do agree that entry fees should be per pair/team not per person. Team pays, say, $100 and how they split that up is their business.
Aug. 1, 2018
Steve Tyer edited this comment Aug. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John is right. Who knows, if wrong it is certainly not the worst game I ever bid.
Aug. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Craig, as dummy I often let my mind relax for a few minutes and may think of dinner spots, cute woman at the next table, etc.
July 31, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top