Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Steve Robinson
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why does it show clubs? Some might not overcall 1diamond with AK/5432/65432/AQ
Nov. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
take out of spades. xx/AJxx/KQxx/Kxx or x/AJxx/KQxx/Kxxx
Nov. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You have AKxx/Axx/Kxx/Kxx. It goes 1heart 1spade (you)
2diamonds - 3clubs (you) - 3nt. Now what? Wouldn't 1heart - 2clubs - 2diamonds - 2hearts be a better start?
Oct. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you open 1heart with AKxx/Qxxxx/xx/Kx and partner responds 2clubs, how can you not rebid 2spades?
Oct. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With only four spades and game-forcing values, responder should NEVER NEVER NEVER respond 1spade. If you respond 1spade and opener rebids two-of-either-red suit, you now have to bid 3clubs in order to force to game. Extremely awkward. Respond 2clubs and find your spade fit if opener rebids 2spades.
Oct. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In third or 4th chair you don't want to open light Flannery.
If partner has 10 points, Axxx/AKxxx/xx/xx will get you to 3hearts if you open Flannery. If you open 1heart, partner can bid Drury and you could play 2hearts
Sept. 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If opener knows what the trump suit will be, he will better able to evaluate his holdings. KQ is better in the trump suit then in a side suit KQxx/xxxxx/AK/xx is better if spades are trump then if hearts are trump
Sept. 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Over Flannery:
3clubs = limit raise or better in hearts
(3hearts = minimum 1/3 3diamonds = top 2/3
3diamonds = limit raise or better in spades
(same logic as 3clubs)
3major = mixed raise
4clubs = heart slam try with short spades
4diamonds = spade slam try with short hearts
2NT asks and denies primary support for major
3clubs = 2-2 or 1-3 or 0-4
3diamond = 3-1 or 4-0
3hearts = six hearts
3spades = 5-6
Responder can show minor suit lengths

By passed hand (should not open weak Fannery if partner is a passed hand since you'll get to
3hearts if partner has a game try)
2nt natural
3minor = game try in logical major
3major = mixed raise
Sept. 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner and I have never removed the tray from the table after the auction is over. The tray is removed only if the

opponents want it removed and then they remove it.

Does the tray have to be removed? Does that mean that when we're North South, the East-West pair must leave the tray on the table. If the east-west pair strongly want the tray removed could we designate one of them to remove it.

I refuse to be bothered removing it.
Sept. 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the mixed teams behind screens a player was unsure about the meaning of partner's bid. I felt that he was obligated after the auction was over and before the opening lead to clarify the meaning so that his LHO who was on lead had the correct information
Aug. 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The following was in the minutes explaining the stop card.

3. Using bidding boxes, the Skip-Bid Warning is given by displaying the stop card, making a call and then returning the stop card to the bidding box. Following the Skip Bid Warning, LHO is obligated to wait approximately 10 seconds (while giving the appearance of studying his hand and not in excess time to determine a choice of bids) before making a call.

I think the following was left out of 162-27 appendix G #3 from the minutes about skip bids?

If you announce one skip bid you must announce all skip bids.
(you can't just announce skip bids with weak hands)

Even if a skip bid warning is not issued, LHO must wait 10 seconds after all skip bids.
Aug. 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I strongly like the 1 and 7:30 starting times. With the afternoon session finishing between 4:30 and 5:00, I have time to eat and then rest. In the USBF and WBF events, there are many team games where you play on 6-person teams and can rest when you're sitting out. In regionals you're more likely to play on a 4-person team or play in a pair event. This makes the 10:00 and 2:30 starting times too rushed. Having only one hour between sessions is not conducive to playing good bridge. I go to a bridge tournament to play bridge. I can spend a lot of time eating dinner when I'm not at a tournament.
Aug. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Twice I've open 1nt with two stiff kings. I can't wait for three
July 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Another reason why men play better then women.

If you were able to test all five-year old children and find 100 children from each sex with the best chances of becoming
top-notch bridge players, train them to play bridge, then their bridge results assuming they played bridge when they grow up, would be equal.
However, what happens is that 99% of the girls that would be on that list of top 100 would not get into games
and would do other things such as have families while at least 30% of the boys on that list
would get into games and play bridge.

You have to be born with the ability to be top-notch in any endeavor. Only the select few can be top notch
piano players, artists, tennis players, doctors, etc. In order to be top-notch you have to spend lots of time
working in your endeavor and you have to ignore family things. The women bridge players you do get would be ranked 500th on the list of five-year girls.
The one thru 499th girls on that list who could be top-notch players probably never have picked up a card. We never get a chance to see what the top 100 girls would do.
June 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is good sportsmanship in bridge?

Declarer claims all the tricks but one, conceding a club to the king. His last two cards are Ax opposite Qx. However, you have a singleton king of clubs left so you give him the rest.

The opponents are in five spades non-vulnerable doubled. You take seven tricks on defense for +1100.
Later that night, you go over the hand and can't figure out how you got seven tricks. You talk to your partner and he agrees that it was only six tricks. You tell the Director since +800 causes you to lose the match. You insist that the opponents win the match.

It goes by the opponents – 1nt - 2clubs - 2diamonds - 2nt - 3nt. The opponents don't tell you that this auction does not promise a four-card major and .you don't make a bid deal about it.

You have a mind loss and call the wrong card from dummy. You don't say "oh Sh** and try to play the correct card. You end up going down in a cold contract.

Above are examples of good sportsmanship.

Good sportsmanship does not require you to let the opponents take back their mistakes.
If an opponent miscounts the responses to Blackwood and gets to 7NT off an ace, you don't allow them to play in 6NT.

If an opponent miscounts trumps and leaves a low trump out, you don't allow him to go back and draw your last trump.

If an opponent forgets that his nine of clubs is good, you don't allow him to go back and cash it.

Mistakes are a part of bridge and if your opponent makes a mistake, its not bad sportsmanship to take advantage of these mistakes.

Showing an opponent your hand is a mistake. Rule 74C5 says that it is appropriate to act on information acquired by unintentionally seeing an opponent's card. It is unethical to actively try to see an opponent's hand but if he holds the queen of trumps in a manner that you can't help seeing it, the rules specifically say that you're allowed to take advantage of it.

I tell my beginning students that the first rule of bridge is that you must follow suit and there are penalties for failure to follow suit. When an opponent fails to follow suit, the rules say what the penalty is. Its not bad sportsmanship to follow the rules.

If you think that it's good sportsmanship to not take advantage of the opponents showing you the queen of trumps and their failure to follow suit, then why not allow the opponents to play in 6NT when they bid 7NT off an ace?

Mistakes are a part of bridge. When the opponents make a mistake, no matter what it is, their are rules that should be followed. I don't see anything in the rules that say that you have the option to overlook an opponent's mistake.
June 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The following article shows how difficult this is

http://www.districtsix.org/Articles/Article%202009-06.aspx
June 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When you're out of contention, I think it violates sportsmanship and is close to unethical to psyche. You're giving your opponents a random top or bottom which they do not deserve.
April 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There are two ways to play kickback. When it doubt it is (the way I play with Peter) or when in doubt it isn't (the way I play with Kit). However, there are some exceptions to when in doubt it isn't. 1heart - 2diamonds - 3diamonds - 4hearts is RKC for diamonds since 3hearts would show heart support and would set hearts as trump for 4spades rkc. After 1spade - 2hearts - 3hearts, unless responder bids 3spades with sets spades as the rkc suit, any other 4spade bid is rkc for hearts. There are still misunderstandings
April 5, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The trouble is that 95% of players and lots of Directors do not know the complex rules about which conventions are legal. I was on a National Appeals committee where a reputable player opened 2diamonds twice showing a weak hand with both majors in a seven-board Swiss match. He did not have defenses (there were none since it was not legal to so so) and said that a Director had said he could do it which was probably true. While they were discussing the boards after the match was over, the 2diamond bid came up. A teammate who knew the rules called the Director and the committee changed the results of the two boards from +26 on the two boards to -6 for twice using an illegal convention. However, there is no penalty for using illegal bids if your opponents are in the 95% who don't know that the bid is illegal and allow it to occur.

If they did that against me, I'm sure that we would get three IMPs or our score whichever is better or average plus or our score in a matchpoint game.
Feb. 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think alerting the earlier bid when it's partner's turn to bid and the opponents are out of the auction is an egregious error. Therefore, since there are players that would bid 6diamonds and there are players that think 6dia would be set, I'd change the score to 6diamonds - 50. I can't believe that its right to say something when partner's thinking.
Feb. 25, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top