Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Simon Weinberger
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner has forgotten the system, everything else doesnt make any sense.
But it depends on the country and the players playing. I the US and GB it seems that many people play regular stayman. In Austria nearly none but beginners.
So without any discussion I would assume puppet and I have not seen someone making a mistake here.
Feb. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good arguments, but I think it also makes a difference how many opponents go down. IF partner has KJxxxx-Qxxxx-KQ you make a vulnerable 4H, but get only 100, when you go up with the 10
Feb. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not sure North would have played low at MPs giving EW one extra trick if spades break or South is broke.
I am not sure about the percentage, but a spade switch by North looks hard to me. AKxxxxx at the table and no spade lead by partner.
Feb. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What if partner has K109xxx-Qxxxx-KQ or alike?

I guess the 8 was not in the South hand, sorry!
Does that change your opinion?
Feb. 5
Simon Weinberger edited this comment Feb. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, with a 5c major opponent is more likely to bid 3NT than with a 6 card minor? You have to explain me this logic. Had s been 2-2 with the honours split he had to duck in the actual hand as well and didn t.
Feb. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They didnt get a worse score. See below. ;)
Feb. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Then it seems, that it was just a misjudgment from me. :(
I assumed that East shouldn't have a void for his 3N bid.
As South I lead a club from J10987x-Kxx-xx-xx and was surprised that declarer won the Q with the A at trick one.
Wanting to protect the entry to partners clubs I tried to win the first heart with the king to see that my partner had the A singleton.
I thought that he would be void in spades, so a singleton A was less likely than a small mistake by opponent by winning the first club.

I would not bid like that with both hands and was really smashed by the coincidence that excatly when East bids 3N with a void, West passes with AKxxxx.
Feb. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does partner expect your hand to be like this, when he doubled? Will he be able to defend correctly?
Feb. 3
Simon Weinberger edited this comment Feb. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you care about your HCP distribution and if yes how? I mean with the 3343 and 4432 shapes.
Jan. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Either you pass or commit to 4 if partner has a 5 card spade!
Jan. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Austria it is common to play 3 as further distribution ask. Even old ladies play it here, but I have not seen it anywhere else.
Here it would work great. Ask, hear if we have a club fit, if not ask for min/max and decide the contract. If there is a fit you can find out all the cards. xx-AKxx-KQx-AJxx makes 7s a good contract.
Dec. 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think judgement based only on comparision to others fails.
When you compare the data of my leads at my local club to the other leads it may seem like I am a cheater.
I am not, but there is just a completly different understanding of bridge and a different bidding interference. Sometimes also the state of the match or funny ideas change the lead. We are not machines and even really good players make strange leads. At least they look stupid in aftermaths.

Not supposed to be a defense for BL as I have no idea what is going on.
Dec. 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I assume most play 15-17. If its something different I always explain
Dec. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When? The 3 bid was not alerted
Dec. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At the time of the board the agreement was: X= T/O (3-suiter), 2N= D+H, 3= majors
Dec. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1 would have shown 0-3 spades, 2= 6+. I think thats quite common at good level.
Dbl would have been support. Sorry, forgot to add that.
Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Absolutly absurd ruling. :/ Action like that make me dislike Bridge.

So many arguments for leading a diamond and the board is adjusted because of a 1 minute hesitation? Imagine being South… hearing an expert bidding to 7. And suddenly 7N. I think no player in the world can imagine world class opponents bidding to 7N in an uncontested auction missing one ace. South has to be in a short shock and probably needs to analyse what pass/double means.
I don t know the pair, but I am sure that it happened not purposely and opponents should accept that. They have to accept their mistake.

Calling the director here seems not like sportmansship to me.
Dec. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know that, but how to good bid it?
Nov. 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Funny how discussion turned out. I thought nobody can bid less than game at some stage.
In reality partner had Axxx-xxx-Axxx-Ax which made 6 a very good contract. On a non-club lead I think its laydown on normale breaks.
Opponents really had 10 to 8 HCP.
I wondered if it was possible to reach the slam. (There are other hands that can be constructed for a slam if one opponent bluffed a little)
Nov. 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is what I thought so too. . . That is why I posted the hand!
I passed and got about 10% in the Austrian Pairs Championship.
I thought that the auction was quite normal but only 2 tables out of 30 played 1N.

Opps had: J-AQxx-KJxxx-Kxx and Q108x-KJx-xxx-Qxx

Should partner really raise with Kxx-xxxx-xx-Jxxx?
Nov. 26, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
.

Bottom Home Top