Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Ronald Kalf
1 2 3 4 ... 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 85 86 87 88
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, were I to play 3N it would. Time to find out if pard can help before we get there. Also I'm somewhat protected because 1N is a slight overbid on high cards. I prefer being able to double but if the majors are switched and LHO bids 1, I'd bid 1N even with my regular partner.
March 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I abstained, because I wouldn't have passed 1. 1N would have been my bid with a pick-up partner and X (denies 4 as well as -stopper) with my regular partner. Passing is asking for exactly the problem you now have.
March 4, 2017
Ronald Kalf edited this comment March 4, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I prefer what I call Quasi-Lebensohl: FG or Invite with 5-4. Opener is supposed to bid 2N with 4crd , 2 otherwise. With a pick-up, I expect natural, F1.
March 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 is 1000% forcing, zero exceptions.
March 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I still don't understand! UI to me is information I illegally have from MY partner. I may use any information opps are giving me.
March 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even if pass is not an LA for Kit, it is for many players. If S admits to the BIT, N has no business denying. I would assume that the denial is made in order to justify making use of UI.
March 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand the UI discussion. The bidding is over and next time declarer has to make a decision is after dummy is on the table. The only UI that I can see is from the extremely fast pass by RHO. But even that is totally irrelevant: I had a strong two-suiter and easily made 2+4 for a loss of 15 imps and the match against our strongest competitors. Partner had :-, :Kxxx, :Qx, :KQxxxxx and was thinking about playing 2 or bid a forcing 3. Unfortunately Pass is not the right call for playing 2.
March 2, 2017
Ronald Kalf edited this comment March 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also a momentary lapse of reason: the anchor suit is .
Feb. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I assume you are not married:-))
Feb. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing IMR in combination with WNT is perfect. With a SNT you probably need some artificial follow-up. Playing SNT plus IMR with a pick-up partner I''m always glad when it doesn't come up.
Feb. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Surely a matter if style in partnership agreement. Not my style.
Feb. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Richard: True enough, I know lots of players who are good declarers an d good in part score vs. game decisions, but still rely on RKCB or (even wordwe Gerber) for slam decisions. They forget that first priority is fit, second is a chance for 12 tricks.
@Kit: It is one of my weaknesses that I rely more on exchanging an exact description of both hands then trying to imagine what pard could have. Today I had a success in imagining. Thank you for your lesson.
Feb. 26, 2017
Ronald Kalf edited this comment Feb. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you really want to commit your side to the 5-level with an empty trump suit, nothing in pards first suit and not knowing about Q?
Feb. 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not really sure if we would really find it ATT, but this is how it should/could be:
1N-2; 3-3; 4-4N; 5-6. WNT, transfer, anti-splinter wit max plus 4crd support, second suit. Opener still thinks only in terms of game try, but QT is super so now 4. Not normally a fan of RKCB, I make an exception here.
Feb. 23, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In our system a single raise is just noise, overcaller bids only with a very distributional hand. Any hand where game is possible opposite a max witout extreme distribution cues and we can stop in 2M. With 4crd support and a constructive hand we have fit-jump, 2SA and jump cue.
You might want to read “Partnership Bidding at Bridge” by Robson & Segal available as PDF at http://www.bridgewithdan.com/systems
Feb. 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wouldn't be surprised. The given hand is a real rock crusher compared to AKxxx and out or KQxxx plus a side K, which we consider a sound overcall. Our double is a pure power double plus we play NTO making it easier to handle X from 15hcp up.
Feb. 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As E my second bid would be 4, but W shouldn't X 4. 3 is not a strong bid.
Feb. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't need pre-alerts, in fact I don't need any alerts, as long as I have a CC. I pick it up and then tell my partner if we treat 1 as artificial or natural. Then the problem doesn't occur. In this case, yes 2 should have bebn alerted according to the (silly) rules in place today. Is the missing alert a reason to adjust the score? I don't think so: Nobody has forbidden NS to ask about 2. I would ALWAYS ask about a potential artificial bid if this is important to my decision.
Feb. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know your overcall style, but in my partnership, this hand is to strong. Even if you are more conservative then I am, I still would say you can hardly have more then that. OTOH a simple raise might be just noise and pard would bid 2 with a hand where game on pure strength is possible. I have to abstain.
Feb. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ACBL makes everything very complicated. What does “must not be part of relay system” mean? All openers rebids must be natural? At least some of openers rebids must be natural? Is a 2M-rebid showing any minimum considered natural? Is showing shortness considered part of relay system?
Feb. 20, 2017
1 2 3 4 ... 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 ... 85 86 87 88
.

Bottom Home Top