Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Ronald Kalf
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 75 76 77 78
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree, but is unavoidable in WJ. We do avoid it, but have a completely different structure.
16 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I‘d say you should bid 1, absolutely forcing, could even be 5 in a strong hand, but also a 12 count 4333. You can bid 2 if responer rebids 1N, which is again unlimited and forcing.
Personally I don‘t like this ambiguity in WJ. In our system (with a WNT) 1-1;1 shows 4crd iand 15-18 balanced or 5(+). The seond bid always clarifies if opener is strong or not and almost always (this is the only exception) if opener has SNT or an unbalanced hand.
16 hours ago
Ronald Kalf edited this comment 16 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ah, I see E has only 6, but even so the only category of spot cards that could be missing is for the come-on message.
16 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I understand your rules correctly, E‘s J must show KJT9843 because in all other cases E would have a spot card in all catagories. It looks easy to cash A and continue with . Am I missing something?
16 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Okay, I understand what you mean. Should I use WGI (who goofed it) or DYAWTB (do you agree with the bidding) in stead of ATB?
20 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard, Paul, are you pulling my leg? The blame is independent of the outcome. FYI 5-1 is par.
Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As others have written, the problem is not PC specific. This is a borderline decision. With 3415 I tend to bid 1 aggressively and pass 1. Here I cannot pass 1 and would have to choose between two unattractive rebids (1N and 2). I‘d probably bid 1, but our strong 1 starts at 19 and systemic responses are 6+, not 7+. However: one bad board can never be a reason to change your system!
Aug. 18
Ronald Kalf edited this comment Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Because unfortunately neither N nor S could see preempters hand before making the decision.
Aug. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Now let mt tell you s out the happy end. I got a lead to K and A, whereupon I continued with 2 rounds of , both ducked. Then I rattled of my , played a to J and A. Opps managed to crash their honours and my K made the 9th trick. With Q onsite, 5d is par, but no one played there. The final outcome doesn‘t make the bidding any better of course.
Aug. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Other, 4, not 3 OR 4.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I‘m not like everybody else (The Kinks, 1966).
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richards statistics are not based on hands that only he played. They are interesting and show that the axion 12+12 is game (and 13+11 is not) is just another fairy tale. The difference between 12+12 and 16+8 is 0.05 tricks. Hard to believe but even compared to 20+4 the difference is only 0.24.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Great Kit, I‘m going to write that on the cover page of our system book.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I‘m with Kieran, 2N is high risk, low profit. Apart from going -1 in 2N, there are those cases where the majoritay plays 2N-1 and I play 3N-1, simply because opps are satisfied that we don‘t make our game.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can‘t we have 5 invitational bids? 7,5, 8, 8.5, 9, 9.5:-)
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3, the A which could be in Ws possession for all pard knows is either an entry for my or a second chance to lead a .
Aug. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had a similar situation and did bid 3N. LHO didn‘t lead a from his broken suit and I had an easy go for 9 tricks. He was fuming, bellowing „how can you bid 3N without a decent stopper“. I just replied „I‘d rather be down in 3N then in 4!“.
Aug. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, but 4 is the winner. We would have won the club tournament had we played 4.
Aug. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is exactly what happened, I had :AQxxx, :Axx, :xxx, :QT. We lost both black Ks plus A.
Aug. 14
Ronald Kalf edited this comment Aug. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I guess best use for 4 is RKCB. Without agreement I would take it to be natural (my original vote). Since the question is what it SHOULD be, I changed my vote.
Aug. 13
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 75 76 77 78
.

Bottom Home Top