Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Richard Fleet
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 698 699 700 701
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What were the East-West hands?
8 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
May I add a request in respect of lead problems: please include details of the leading methods in use.
8 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I prefer to find out what I need from the opponents' system cards, not from an oral summary of their methods (which might miss out something that I consider of importance).
12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And, given West's bidding, how likely is it that clubs will be 2-1 and diamonds no worse than 4-2?
12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So far as I am concerned, partner has shown a spade fit and a source of tricks in hearts. Spades are agreed and all I am interested in is aces.
12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why would anyone want to distort the auction by suppressing a great six-card major?
12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Clear to adjust to ten tricks in my view.
12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As for Philip. Likely to be a major but not guaranteed.
12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the pass denies three-card support, it's alertable in England.
12 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is quite straightforward.

If I have the agreement that I am obligated to bid on with the higher number of key cards, I bid 6.

If I do not have this agreement, I pass.
19 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my view, this is a Lightner double and I lead my lower club.
19 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I once held this hand in a Swiss Teams (again dealt at the table): AKx AK AKQ AKQJx

I organised the auction so that I established that partner had three card spade support but lacked the Queen. I then bid 6NT.

Partner had Jxxx and 10 as entry.

At the other table, my counterpart opened 7NT.

On this basis, a possibility is to attempt to get clubs agreed. However, the missing J is also a concern. Assuming that I am playing a Kokish method whereby I can make a forcing 2NT rebid by some route or other, that is a possible start. Alternatively, show my hearts - if partner supports the suit, we might be in business: maybe show a heart-club two-suiter.

But I suspect that, in practice, I'll learn nothing and end up bidding 6NT.
20 hours ago
Richard Fleet edited this comment 20 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The last time that I saw someone lead low from this spade holding, partner had five small and the suit was irreparably blocked.
20 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If he opened that with 2, he misbid.

You can never be sure that partner did not accidentally pull the wrong card out of the box.
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm bidding 7 but possibly not for the same reasons as others: my concern is that they make 6 (I'm actually not confident about beating 7).

Is it that unlikely that opener is 6-6 in the majors and responder is void in spades? Depending on the distribution, you might need to find the right lead to beat 7. This might be a hand where the par result for our side is to sacrifice in 7NT.
April 23
Richard Fleet edited this comment April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unusual, certainly; legitimate, that depends on your viewpoint.

I have difficulty in constructing a hand which can sensibly open 2 and then bid 3 over 3. I find it utterly impossible to construct a hand which would rebid 4.
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ray, the EBU rule is:

“Calls above 3NT

Once the auction is above the level of 3NT, no calls are to be alerted except for:

(a) Artificial suit bids above 3NT made before the opening bidder’s second turn to call (i.e. the first bid and the next three calls) e.g. 1–(P)–4 (splinter) or P–(P)–1–(P)–4 (splinter). In both cases 4 is alerted

(b) Lead-directing passes

© Doubles or redoubles that are lead-directing but ask for the lead of a suit other than the suit doubled (or redoubled)

(d) Doubles and redoubles of no trump contracts that call for a specific suit to be led.”
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The theory is simply wrong. I have never liked the idea of high-level bids becoming non-alertable after the first round of the auction.
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My approach is simple, perhaps simplistic: if it can logically be to play, it is.
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How is partner's double defined?
April 23
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 698 699 700 701
.

Bottom Home Top