Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Phil Hernandez
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's true. Low to the ace however does not completely deplete the chances of making six. And seven isn't a necessary target. Making 6 will score very well especially if the king is off.
Sept. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
none. just confirming my action. And the fact that online bridge is truly random. Partner's hand: AQx AQx x AKJxxx of course.
July 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So with xyz what is 1 - 1 - 1 - (1 or 2) vs the same auction via 2/? (I use 2 as a game force with a real suit as opposed to an all purpose GF.)
July 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Canada (where it is also pronounced zed), we refer to it as xyZEE. However, it's a zed28 and a 240zed, eh!
July 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's an overbid. It could be a mistake but do you really want partner to pass with Axx xxx JTxx Kxx?
June 21
Phil Hernandez edited this comment June 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On this point I'm not sure I agree. Per Law 16B1 (b), it is the TD's job to read the collective minds of this class of player to see if they'd consider and in some cases choose the bid. There isn't always a pool of peers handy for surveys.
June 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Over 2H, does partner bid 2S with a minimum and 2NT with a max?
May 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wonder if he (mistakenly) believed that 2NT was lebensohl/ingbermann and dutifully bid 3c with his 4153, happy that he is playing a system that allows for responder to show a weak 4-6. Then, when partner next bids 3NT, his sequence is no longer weak - its forward-going showing a good hand with hearts and (longer) clubs but not quite enough to 2/1 originally. Maybe this is the way to show this hand type (as opposed to a rebid of 3C over the jump shift which would be ambiguous as to strain perhaps because it's a waiting bid looking for opener to grab the NT). Anyway, our hero suddenly LOVES his hand and launches into RKC. Maybe AKxx Q AKJxx KTx which makes 6c lay down opposite ace of hearts and QJ9xxx of clubs?

Just a theory.

I'll go read part 3 now…
Feb. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seriously? Kit discusses themes that have relevance and value across the bridge spectrum (and that sometimes take the event and state of the match into account) and you're pestering him about the source? If you want to know more about the event, go read a write up about it in a bridge magazine.
Dec. 25, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
.
Dec. 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If E wins Ace of clubs and returns a club, declarer wins, ruffs a club and plays all his trumps pitching a diamond. E is strip squeezed forced to discard from: Kx, KJ, x

If E ducks the first round of clubs, declarer is in trouble. If the club Q is played next, E wins and puts the dK (any other card is fatal to the defence) on the track. I can't see a way for South to wriggle out of that.

A low club instead of the queen allows W to win to put a heart through.
Oct. 5, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
.
Sept. 5, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John's point is not invalid. Occam's razor and all that.

However, it is certainly possible that Lair has experienced genuine remorse. On that basis, and especially if there are no previous incidents of wrongdoing, I would tend to err on the side of those who applaud this action. By legal standards, remorse is only one of several factors that go into sentencing (others include the severity of the crime, admitting guilt, and victim impact) but one which can have significant influence on the ultimate outcome. I hope that he has expressed his remorse, if that is what is happening here, directly to the league, the tournament organizers, and those teams he would have impacted had the alleged contravention of the rules not been spotted. I would hope all others involved in the alleged incident would do the same.
Like others, I am a little bothered by the timing of the release and, of course, by the alleged original sin itself.
Aug. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What? No love for sesquipedelian?
Aug. 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes Neil. I thought that as well. But I can click each long word twice then right click it and look it up on the net where it will tell me what the word means. Then I can go back to my job and not feel so dumb. I think that Ray felt it best to use these words to make his point in the best way he knows how since he is a man of the law. I could go on but I think you catch my drift. I have lots of words to write now for my boss. And a lunch to eat. Take care…
Aug. 4, 2016
Phil Hernandez edited this comment Aug. 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not to mention that this “degree of innocence” approach lends itself to scapegoating. No thanks. Everyone gets the same treatment.
Aug. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even more so had North, a passed hand, bid a lead-directing 5 over 5. Don't think North should gild the lily? I think there are good reasons for the 5 bid both defensively and offensively. YMMV.
June 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is farce right?
May 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South deals and opens 1 Precision and the auction proceeds
1* - P - 1** - ?
* strong
** natural positive 5+ spades

East: “Does 1 promise 5 spades?”
South: “Yes.”
East (after some more thought): “He can't have four spades?”
South (who is North's spouse, knows E-W well enough to know that West, who is East's husband, is a serial womanizer, and who is sick and tired of good players trying to browbeat her into a mistake by asking the same question more than once): “Not only does he promise me five spades, he also promises not to sleep with other women.”

Rest of match: silence.
May 12, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
P-P-1 -2
Dbl (no alert) -P -P - ?

2 bidder (an extremely obnoxious well-known, and now deceased, pro and King of the double shot): “What's the double?”
1 bidder:“Oh I don't know…1100?…1400?”

It was 1400
May 12, 2016
Phil Hernandez edited this comment May 12, 2016
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top