Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Nicolas Hammond
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 112 113 114 115
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't have info about T2. But I do have the final scores so can look at what happened by the end of the hand. Click on the link 4 comments above. When it brings up the BBO screen, click on the “GIB” button to see what to do double dummy.

If East leads a heart or club, North can make 3NT - double dummy. If East leads anything else then when West gets in with the A, she must return the Q to set the contract.

Single dummy I don't know what happened at the various tables.

I would expect the lead to be the fourth best heart at most tables. You can see that most people probably did this. Your score was 40%. For whatever reason, some people were able to set the contract and scored 90%. Why/how? - I don't know.
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For this challenge I decided on the opponents based on final finish. All the hands were on VuGraph so I could look up the bidding for this particular opponent on this board. As I noted, neither West bid 4. It just so happens that 4 makes.
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am not estimating scores. I am going from the real matchpoint scores. This is what makes this different from nearly all other bidding competitions.
Dec. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The list is public: http://web2.acbl.org/discipline/CurrentlyUnderDisciplineList.pdf
Presumably you are supposed to know someone recently added.
Dec. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Happy to be corrected, but during my entire interaction, he appeared to be working for the ACBL management and represented himself as such. When there was a conflict, he did not recuse himself. The Copyright issue being the most egregious when Peter Rank negotiated the ACBLscore+ contract, and then refused the Board permission to view the contract and the discussions with ACBL's outside counsel on the Copyright issue. Peter Rank negotiated the contract as part of ACBL (management) and then also advised the board not to investigate the original contract. If even was supposed to represent the Board, then once he did work for management, and there is an issue with the work he did, it is incumbent on Peter Rank to recuse himself; or for the board to get outside counsel.
Dec. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It doesn't. I suspect at the table I might wait one round and then bid 2.
Dec. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Fixed. Thanks.
Dec. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peter Rank also worked for the ACBL and not the BOD.
Dec. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I edited Board 20. Bad grammar. Correct on board 22 - had them the wrong way round.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg: Take time to read Law 16. ACBL rules are here: ACBL Laws are here: http://web2.acbl.org/documentlibrary/play/Laws-of-Duplicate-Bridge.pdf

I'll copy it below:

LAW 16
AUTHORIZED AND
UNAUTHORIZED INFORMATION
A. Players’ Use of Information
1.A player may use information in the auction or
play if:
(a)it derives from the legal calls and plays of
the current board (including illegal calls and
plays that are accepted) and is una‘ected
by unauthorized information from another
source; or
(b) it is authorized information from a
withdrawn action (see C); or
© it is information specified in any law or
regulation to be authorized or, when not
otherwise specified, arising from the legal
procedures authorized in these laws and in
regulations (but see B1 following); or
(d) it is information that the player possessed
before he took his hand from the board
(Law 7B) and the Laws do not preclude his
use of this information.
2. Players may also take account of their
estimate of their own score, of the traits of
their opponents, and any requirement of the
tournament regulations.
B. Extraneous Information from Partner
1. Any extraneous information from partner that
might suggest a call or play is unauthorized.
This includes remarks, questions, replies to
questions, unexpected alerts or failures to
alert, unmistakable hesitation, unwonted
speed, special emphasis, tone, gesture,
movement or mannerism.
(a) A player may not choose a call or play that
is demonstrably suggested over another by
unauthorized information if the other call or
play is a logical alternative.
23
(b) A logical alternative is an action that a
significant proportion of the class of players
in question, using the methods of the
partnership, would seriously consider, and
some might select.

From my reading: 16 A 1 a applies. If North had made his lead somehow (top of his stacked cards on the table) before the BIT then his lead is not affected by the BIT and is allowed.

However, given the BIT, 16 B 1 a applies. North is now effectively banned from leading the diamond.

You really need video of the play to see the timing, BIT and lead selection.

It would also really help in the write-ups if the Director(s) discussed the logic behind their decisions particularly as it applies to the specific Laws that they applied. This is clearly a confusing case - AI, UI, BIT, Bridge logic to be applied, repeat polls.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From the write-up, I believe it was West that called the directors. East is supposed to call before the screen is raised. West has to wait to call until after the hand is over.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ACBL only shows the final table results so there is no auction. You are correct that I should have put a Meckwell auction in there. I went with a generic 2/1 auction for all boards. Apologies for Meckwell - they would not bid that way! I only mentioned that your opponents were Meckwell because sometimes people get nervous against them.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have no problem with full disclosure of the ACBLscore+ contract; along with all of the Monthly Status Reports that were part of the project; and all documentation regarding the Copyright issue.

Note that the board had to implement lots of changes to its By Laws because of the “overblown allegations”. Check out the changes to the By Laws at the Atlanta meeting this summer. The Board was not compliant in many, many ways.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I disagree. As players we have a responsibility to call the directors in situations like this.

I do not fault Mr. Levin. Had the initial director ruling been in his favor, we may never have heard about this incident.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South. Fixed. Thanks. Had a p in the wrong place.
Dec. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hand is at https://live.acbl.org/event/NABC183/BLUE/5/board-detail/A?board_num=23 For Section B, replace the last ‘A’ with ‘B’. It's not as easy to bid as you would think. Try bidding with your regular partner and find out what your auction is.
Dec. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For the legal types, the ACBL screen regulations are at http://web2.acbl.org/coc/AppendixG.pdf.

The ACBL laws are at http://web2.acbl.org/documentlibrary/play/Laws-of-Duplicate-Bridge.pdf. See Law 16.

16 A. 1. a. seems to apply. If North had placed lead on the table; or made no attempt to change the lead (i.e. he put the lead on the top of his cards, and just turned it over), before the BIT, then the diamond lead might have been allowed. With the BIT, Law 16 B. 1. a kicks in.

The problem with 16 B 1 a is the words “demonstrably suggested”, “significant portion”, “seriously consider, ”might select“. Each of these phrases are open for interpretation.

These laws need to written so that there is some clarification; or specific examples given.

Is ”demonstrably suggested“ 50%, 60^%, 70%, 80% or 90%. Same with all of the other phrases. What is the threshold. ”Significant portion" is how much? If you eat a signification portion of my pie, how much am I left with?

I made this suggestion two months ago to the WBF Laws Committee. I request that others make the some request.
Dec. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The point with these write-ups is that it is not a bidding competition. You can make the “right” bid but get a bad score. There is also luck in MPs. I worked out that the best score you could achieve would be about 71%.
Dec. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Getting legal and IANAL, but do the ACBL specific regulations override the Rules?

I gave you the URL. Here's the actual text:

A. When a player takes more than a normal time to make his call, his screenmate
should not inform those players on the other side of the screen. The screenmate should
not report the delay to the director prior to the completion of the hand.
B. If a player on the side of the screen receiving the tray considers there has been
a break in tempo and consequently there may be unauthorized information under Law
16B2, he should reserve his rights or call the Director. He may do so without prejudice at
any time before the opening lead is made and the screen is opened.
C. Failure to do as (2) provides may persuade the Director that it was the partner
who drew attention to the break in tempo. If so, he may well rule there was no perceived
delay on the other side of the screen and thus no unauthorized information.

For A, this is Mr. Levin. He correctly waited until the hand was completed and then called the director.
For B, this is Mr. Grue. There is no indication that he called the director.
There is no mention in the ACBL write-up on B or C. There should be. This would indicate that the panel correctly went through the motions.

Screens are rare in ACBL events. In the past, directors have been shown not to know the ACBL/USBF rules in place when screens are used. Not saying that they did so in this case; but it would be helpful if they had mentioned the relevant sections in their write-up. Would have avoided a lot of confusion.
Dec. 2
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 112 113 114 115
.

Bottom Home Top