Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Narsingh D Agnish
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Supposedly the world's four best pairs fought it out in the last quarter. Except … only two pairs showed up. Congratulations to Monaco for the well-deserved win.
July 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let us hear from Cohler who took the plunge to 7 hearts (did he think they were behind in the match?) and from “poor” Hurd as to the reasoning behind his fatal lead. We can speculate all we want but they are the ones who were in the hot seat.
July 16, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If we were to eliminate VPs won against non-qualifying teams (i.e., other than the top six), here is the revised standing:
1. Monaco 83
2. Germany 79
3. England 75
4. Italy 72
5. Netherland 69
6. Poland 67

Germany is the only team with winning record against the other five top teams (in one match, they scored 12 VPs which is almost a tie; all others were wins).
June 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When the declarer is cashing his(her) long suit, why bother giving a length count in that suit. It might be better to always give suit preference signal in this situation (unless, of course, a defender is trying to fool the declarer).
June 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted “pass to play & 3 NT to play.” Many years (actually decades) ago, my partner opened 1 NT (16-18 HCPs in those days) and RHO doubled. Holding a yarborough (with 5 diamonds to the nine), I quickly redoubled hoping someone will run. No body did. Luckily the diamonds broke 2-2 (partner had four to AK) and he made a redoubled overtrick. Since then I have stuck with “pass to play … after a redouble.”
May 26, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If my partner passes (or doubles) after a long pause, I always pass. If that turns out to be the wrong decision, I ask my partner not to put me in that situation in the future. I tend to bid something if I pause for a long period of time.
May 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted 2 clubs. Partner will (should) pass 1 spade if all he has is the jack doubleton of spades and jack doubleton of clubs.
May 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree 100% with Bobby Wolff. Top players must be role models and go out of their way to be nice to the opponents. Here is what Mr Meckstroth should have said: “Listen guys, ACBL requires that players playing 2 diamonds must supply the opponents with a written defense as published by ACBL. Keep that in mind for the future. As for us, we know how to defend against this bid but others may not.”
March 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Poor sportsmanship by Meck. They play a system which only a few player understand completely which obviously gives them an (almost) unfair advantage. To object to opponent's multi 2 diamonds. Come on. Meckwell have played in numerous world championship where many players play multi 2 diamonds. Surely, they have established a defense against it.

This reminds me: many years ago, Mr Edwin Kantar called the director because his opponents had used 2 club Stayman and did not alert that in rare cases, this bid might be made without
a 4-card major suit (2 clubs followed by 3 clubs showing weak responder's hand with length in clubs - a standard treatment). Surprisingly, Mr Kantar was awarded a favorable ruling.
March 22, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I chose 2 NT. Passing might induce partner to double for takeout. Then what?
Feb. 29, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top