Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Nelson
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 81 82 83 84
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Auction 1: I prefer 3 to be invitation asking for trump quality, so it can also be 1-2-3 stop if 3 bidder has good enough trumps that 2 bidder wont have them. (Similar to 1-2-3).

Auction 2: should be 8-11ish with exactly four spades, with 5+ spades jump to 3, playing the usual advances.

I actually prefer a 1NT advance to be artificial, similar to 2NT after the X of a weak two. playing this method,I would bid 2 directly with 5+ spades and go through 1NT first with only 4.
38 minutes ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can make a case for X=“lead your own suit, don't try to hit mine I have help in your suit” in this auction. At this vul, partner will have a decent suit but no entries and may hesitate to lead from his suit into opponent's announced stoppers. I don't know that this is the best use of X of 3NT, but it's not crazy. But I don't think X should be lead directing at all in this auction, just pure penalty.
Sept. 17
Mike Nelson edited this comment Sept. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What else would it be? How can you be asking partner to bid hearts when he can't have them? All doubles by the partner of a preemptor are PENALTY. Make them guess, make them pay when they guess wrong.
Sept. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
BTW, under the new ACBL convention charts, signals (other than on the first discard) may only be based on relative rank, and an agreement that 10,9,8 = high; 4 3,2 = low; and 7-6-5 = middle is not legal. (I think it is unfortunate that they wrote that rule.)
Sept. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good point Bill, but my rule was not intended to apply to raised suit situations.
Sept. 12
Mike Nelson edited this comment Sept. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes John yarbs are rare but does this hand rate to be 50-50 for 3NT opposite a random 5-count?
Sept. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
By that rule, case #4 would be takeout, though I might agree on an exception if partner were so inclined. The way I would phrase the meta-rule: If a player has previously passed and subsequently doubles, the double is takeout if and only if the opponents have shown a new suit after the pass.
Sept. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My take is that Multi 2 (or 2)is not brown sticker but opponents may use written defenses as if it were, but the Multi pair is not required to provide them. It would grossly illogical to allow written defenses at levels 1 and 2 and not at level 3. Written defenses were not needed at level 3 until they were allowed for multi and the language in section 6 may not accurately reflect the rulemaker's intent WRT Multi.
Sept. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Never win …” is in S. J. Simon's Why You Lose At Bridge, a classic that belongs in every collection of books that aspires to call itself a bridge library.
Sept. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't remember the Cohen quote, but in Why You Lose At Bridge S. J. Simon cites a declarer who played brilliantly to overcome 4-0 trumps, he would have made if trumps had indeed been 4-0 but they unfortunately were 2-2 and he went one off.
Sept. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As usual (but not always), when UK and US standard differ, UK standard is superior.
Sept. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
WRT Kaplan/Granville, I'm surprised to see it mentioned as being particularly useful in a Flannery context. Either Flannery or KI by itself addresses the problem hand: 4-5-x-x shape with less than reversing values.
Sept. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Assuming your weak twos normally have six cards, you have nine trumps, but the lousy 4333 shape and three queens argue that the total tricks will be low. Let sleeping dog lie on this hand.
Sept. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The list of PED's developed for physical sports make no sense at all applied to mindsports. Of course the term “mindsport” only exists because certain governments subsidize “sports” but not “games.”
Sept. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From my days as a club director, I can attest while nobody plays better dead, a lot of players play equally badly dead or alive. Avon's use of the word “most” is an overbid.
Sept. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't play partner for a zero count as it's too rare, but in an auction where he shows no signs of life though I've shown this much power and I'm asking myself can we have game opposite 4333 shape with a stray king–the answer is clearly no IMHO.
Sept. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm a big fan or 2 = 5+ clubs or balanced and I'd use it here. But with 4=1=4=4, I'm bidding 1, whether natural or as Kaplan Interchange/Granville Spade. BTW, when playing KI/GS we use the sequence 1-1-1NT to show four spades and less than reversing values and not forcing so responder can play 1NT with a misfit and good minor suit cards. 1-1-2 is clubs or balanced.
Sept. 4
Mike Nelson edited this comment Sept. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You might find this take on 2 Nebulous interesting: https://bridgewinners.com/article/view/advancing-a-nebulous-2c-response/
Sept. 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I definitely like game forcing transfer to , and invitation+ transfer to is possible, but more complex than I like.
Sept. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Cornelia, neither you our I were there, but I have no reason to doubt Amir's account. There are player like that. In the 1980's, my regular partner and I played plain vanilla Precision, properly alerted and explained even beyond what the regs required. We tried out an open game at new club and a regular there who we had no history with because we had never met, asserted in a loud voice that our methods constituted cheating, not merely “not allowed at this club.” So why is Amir necessarily not giving an accurate account?
Sept. 2
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 81 82 83 84
.

Bottom Home Top