Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mike Ladd
1 2 3 4 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
the suit in mention was 8-5-4.

Club games in Northern Virginia are treated a bit more seriously than some places. Not ruthless but very few instances of a pair just having fun.
July 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
very few 8-5-4 holding have ever been considered lead directing. I had not really thought about the disruptive concept. I understand they even have some systemic bids after 3rd seat openers. I cannot totally confirm that fact nor do I know if they have a means to determine if this type of bids was made. To me, I just seem very wrong in a club game. In the Spingold, when your methods are made available to opponents (I believe that is true), I would be good for anything goes.
July 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
FWIW. the suit was three very small
July 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I presume the 2 voter was thinking Flannery. In the ACBL world, opening a Flannery with fewer than 10 HCP will bring about a rather severe penalty.
July 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When you put the cursor over the DBL, what did it say? As I recall, it always says what the Robot means even in the most obvious times. I got to the point I never even made a bid without checking to see what the robot thought it meant.
July 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The worst convention is any convention your partner falls in love with and semi-forces you to add to your card. Then they promptly forget it the first AND second time you bid it. At that point in time, it becomes the easiest convention to drop from your card.
June 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you had not previously passed, is the meaning of the XX the same 6+?
May 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
and I suspect it is in violation of ACBL rules
May 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It almost sounds like you are confused on how Strata rankings are determined. A “C” player could win overall. He also wins both the “B” and “C” strata but he only gets point for “A” as they would exceed and “B” or “C” awards. Essentially, the high “B” and high “C” are vacated. In a 11 table event, if the top four finishers are “C” players, I am pretty sure they would be the only pairs winning points as they also would have been the top pairs in both “B” and “C”. There would be no other “B” or “C” players winning point.
May 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unless something strange happens on the final day, this will be only the third NABC to have fewer then 9000 tables going back to 2004. The lowest Spring NABC was the Spring 2008 event in Detroit with 8553 tables according to old bulletins. The current lowest is the Fall 2006 in Hawaii with 8248 tables (but it is Hawaii). Those are the only NABCs with fewer than 9000. Detroit in 2015 squeaked out 9059 to avoid being a fourth under 9000. I'm not really sure what this means but it cannot be something making the ACBL smile.
March 19
Mike Ladd edited this comment March 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One must presume we are dealing with two unpassed hands. I prefer playing 1M-3M as invitational and absolutely promising 4+ card support. For all those voting for 1NT NF & limited, these partnerships allow that jump to show as few as 3 card support. I am not one of those people.
March 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is this the same concept if declarer detaches and then places a card on the table after which realizing he effectively followed with the Queen from his AQ suit when defender followed with a King?
Feb. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This happened in Europe where the rules may differ from the ACBL where I play. In the ACBL-World's rules and regulations, where is there a reference to a “slip of the tongue” in play? Just wondering.
Feb. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Karen - thanks for the Uncle John's reference. had forgotten the name.
Jan. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Born in Iowa (and then a fan of the Hawkeyes and Forest Evashevski), going to school at Champaign and having Bloomington so close, I know enough to totally spell out the name of the university to avoid confusion.
Jan. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
life, in the form of raising children, comes in the way. Much truer for those who never attained any rank in bridge.
Jan. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The age poll remaining is seeing how long people took off from playing bridge for various reasons. As my profile states, I had a moderate 36 year break.

I recall “learning” bridge with some friends in high school. We had a plastic table cloth that was placed over a card table. In front of each player were Goren's rules for bidding. It wasn't until college at the University of Illinois that I played my first duplicate game. After the evening game, everyone converged to some pancake house a little west of the campus. Best player there is an easy call as Kit Woolsey was in graduate school. The next most successful player, in later life, was Cheri Bjerkan (but before she married Jim). A slight trip down memory lane. Glad I can still find memory lane.
Jan. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
if you use our Unit's page to get to a club's results, you will be disappointed. I did e-mail Ron on the issue.

I have bookmarked all my games. They will need changing once I know this is permanent
Jan. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Continuing the theme of odd holdings, in a CKO at the Lancaster Regional, my wife and I held all 40 points. And yes, we bid 7NT. We won the match because the other pair bidding the hand had some type of misunderstanding and stopped at 6NT. The other boards were won by the opponents 1-0. Both opponents were 4-3-3-3 but only one was 10-less.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
assuming west isn't blind (and that he is paying at least some attention), he can count 15 diamonds if his partner has Jack fourth. After all, declarer did table his hand.
Dec. 26, 2016
1 2 3 4 5
.

Bottom Home Top