Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Michael Shuster
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 216 217 218 219
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, why willfully misunderstand me? The fact the East holds the J and that South holds (and would play) the 3 fourth on the trick are UI to North when he must select his play.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The J and 3 are UI. So North DOES have UI. Whether that means the score should be adjusted is a different issue.
15 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North has an easy game bid (his pass of 3 made it clear he wasn't looking for a miracle slam.) South still has a full raise even if discounting his K 100% so has a trivial accept and should bid 3 on the way in case partner is slammish.
Aug. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Or maybe start by dealing the human player a random ace, then deal the other 51 cards randomly.

Or, my preference, deal all 52 randomly and make it more like bridge.
Aug. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The (likely) NF nature of 2 and 2 is a very good point and could potentially bring much clarity to the explanation (or the inadequacy of the explanation)
Aug. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For most players here, 2 would start our GF hands and 2 was NF. So 3 is just a bunch of major cards.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Axx has to be good enough to bid 2, to both help the defense and jam the auction. Now that I've passed twice, I guess we bank that was right…
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East passed 2 doubled, which for me shows clubs. Then failed to show any sign of life ever.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The 2 bid is open legal (although psyching it is prohibited.) I don't believe the treatment qualifies for a pre-alert.

It appears they were using 1NT to start relay (Welland/Auken style maybe) and 2 as a substitute for 1NT forcing, although potentially some min GF hands with clubs go there too.

I suspect that nearly all GF hands actually start 1NT though, so perhaps the explanation was disingenuous. I'd need to interview the players to get to the bottom of that, and I think that is where the real complaint lies: It is really a 1NT F1 call, but they are trying to scare the opponents out of competing with the explanation.

If every unusual treamtent required a pre-alert, matches would not finish on time.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
System is fine, the contract purely a result of operator error.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
QT is not the same as Q10
Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If this is alerted, then alerts are meaningless. You might as well just alert everything. Or nothing.
Aug. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As is disclosing your agreements.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Steve, that was a pretty exhaustive list of reasons I abstain as well. One other I do though:
It's an opening lead problem, so I'm not going to go through the lengthy process involved there.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
WRT #3, after a 1NT response, whatever the meaning, 2 can continue relay and higher responses can transfer captaincy (any hand that suspects 3NT is the end contract and fits in your captaincy transfers - for us that means either both majors or neither, although you can fit in balanced or no major instead or other hand types of your choice)
Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my experience, designing the whole system to try to right-side is a mistake. In addition to making everything harder to remember, we don't know what suit is trump and which side is correct is variable. If one hand is showing, then that hand should generally not declare if possible though.

To that end, I'd probably use the first step to initiate relay and the second step to establish a fit with a minimum (putting you into a choice of games auction unless responder has extra values)
Aug. 15
Michael Shuster edited this comment Aug. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
He is starting his positives at 1, so that just implies 1-over positives:
1 =
1NT =
2 = Bal
2 =
2 =

At that point you are in pretty good shape to just follow up with symmetric relay; you'll generally have a control ask under 3NT.
Aug. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I actually gave the kids a card-holding lesson I learned from Billy Miller. I held the cards exactly vertical and moved them slowly toward the middle of the table. They couldn't see my hand until it got to the center. I did the same thing with my cards tilted and they could see it much sooner.
Aug. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with all this, but am confused as to why you think the 1 opening showing an unknown major is disallowed. Let's say you chose to play 1 as all hands with at least one 4+ card minor suit and no 4-card major and 1 as all balanced hands without a minor (not that I'm recommending this - also, I'm switching the minor suits to 1 so the treatment would at least fall into the not-completely-stupid category)

I don't see how that runs foul of the rule that the bid shows length in a known suit other than the one opened.
Aug. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also, you had two straight flushes and a pair, although a weaker setting (in Chinese Poker) than SF, Flush, 777.
Aug. 12
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 216 217 218 219
.

Bottom Home Top