Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Michael Radin
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This happened to me. My partner wanted to call the director and I refused because I thought the bid was automatic. The next day, my partner said that the four experts who were asked all said that East should not have bid.
Aug. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How does 3nt look without 109 of hearts? Even 2nt is in jeopardy on a heart lead and south would always bid 3.
April 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
About 50 years ago,many of the young experts in the New York area were given animal nicknames- The hog (Ron Anderson),pig (Bernie Chazen),ant (Norman Kurlander),dolphin (John Bookstaver),squirrel (Merle Tom),rabbit (Harold Lillie), giant rabbit (Harry Stappenback),beagle (Joel Stuart) are the ones that I remember.
March 27
Michael Radin edited this comment March 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lead aces against slams
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does anybody remember the Hopper's Rules? I recall a few-
1. Eight card suits don't come down in dummy unless trump.
2. 3NT ends all auctions.
3. Don't get involved.

As always, sage advice from John.
March 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For the record, in addition to numerous wins in women's and mixed events, Judi Radin has been second in the Reisinger BAM, Cavendish Invitational, Vanderbilt and National Swiss Team. Is that enough near wins?
Oct. 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that this same auction swung the Women's Pairs in Geneva 1990. The only difference was that 1c was strong nv and and natural vul (and there were 2 different meanings for 2d).The question was whether 1c was alerted or not. The winning pair did not get proper alerts and went for a number. They called for the director and the score was adjusted. This led to a feud that goes on to this day.
Sept. 22, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
About 25 years ago, I was playing a k/o against my wife (Judi Radin) and we both picked up almost the same hand as this. The only difference was the shape was 6-7-0-0. We both got to declare with clubs trump when our partners passed a cue bid. Partner's hand was x xx JTxx AKJTxx. She got a diamond lead and played low and next player had no problem with AKQ9. She was unable to follow suit or ruff! I got a club lead and was able to finesse against the spade king to pitch a diamond and score a trick more (vul)to save 3 imps. We won the match by 2
Aug. 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing in the National LM pairs many years ago with a young talented player not yet known, I picked up xxxx xx xxxx Qxx with all vul. I was in 2nd chair. It went 1H-P-1S-2c
2S- P - 3S -3nt (by partner in tempo)
4S -p-p- long huddle b4 partner doubled.I pulled and we found our 500 save against the vul game. The only time I ever took a directors ruling to committee. The opponents contended that not only did I take advantage of the huddle, but I should have alerted 3nt (partner was 1-1-5-6). We had never discussed the auction, but I thought it was just bridge and there was no hand partner could have that could beat 4s. The committee agreed with me on all counts.I wonder if I would be allowed to appeal under current regs
April 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play attitude in most situations. There are a few exceptions- the most common is this- Queen to length hits in dummy (the others are 5 level or higher and x'ed contracts). No matter what your agreements are, there are times when you have to guess. At least when you give count, you have one piece of hard evidence to work with. BTW- playing standard count, I play second highest from four. Here partner can almost always tell whether you have an even or odd number, but he is certain it is a doubleton when you play the highest spot
March 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For one more time- declarer faced his hand and said “I claim”
I think that I was so shocked by declarer not graciously giving us the trick that I hesitated and partner led and then it was too late. I appreciate the comments Gavin made-you can't call every time. Aviv's comment only reinforces my reluctance to call. Even if I accept all of his suppositions (and #3 is dubious) that is not how I want to win match points. If an 87 year old claims with 2 high trumps and a side ace-neglecting to mention 1 outstanding trump- I would be embarrassed to get a ruling in my favor
Oct. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One more time- after the defense had taken 7 tricks and partner was on lead declarer faced his had and said “I claim”. He obviously had a blind spot not seeing a promotion was coming. I was unsure after rejecting the claim I could have ethically told partner to lead a spade
Oct. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Declarer faced his hand and claimed. I rejected the claim. Without calling the director was I permitted to tell partner what card to play or was it up to partner to be able to see it?
Oct. 22, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That is one of the reasons I made this post. But given the competence of the directors at even the best clubs, what is the alternative?
Oct. 22, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
During the game this director made this ruling. In a 3 card ending, my partner had 2 high trumps and the ace of clubs. She claimed when there was 1 trump outstanding. The director ruled that she had to play the ace first allowing the opponents a ruff- is this the kind of ruling you want?
Oct. 22, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I remember Edgar talking about this. He said Sammy Kehela learned to play bridge at the feet of Terence Reese and owed this to him.
Sept. 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's suppose responder had 5 or 6 spades and 3 hearts.
He was intending to raise 3s to 4 - as a make or a save- he did not care. Opener took a chance by passing - he might have missed a spade fit. If it was the opponents hand and they were able to bid over 3h, his side would miss a good save/make at almost any level. He took a chance (though maybe the percentage action) when he passed, thus it should be allowed. Because of these complexities, multi is barred in most ACBL competitions. From the facts given, partner had a very good hand and maybe he should have taken action at some level, but possibly that is too much to ask the average player.That is why multi is usually barred
Aug. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael- you say this was not an E13 violation. I do not see where intent is an element of this crime. If not E13, what rule did he break?

Clearly Mike did a number of things that led to this situation. Based on his reputation and history, I do not think he intentionally caused the board to be fouled. But his actions did have that effect. The serious problem was the failure to call the director when this was discovered. I do think he should be subject to some sanction and the punishment he was given does seem excessive.

A player of his stature should behave “like Caesar's wife”- not only must he not break the rules, he also should not do anything that gives the appearance of doing so.
Aug. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There are two elements of crime. The first is the physical act of doing the deed. Clearly he did put the cards in the wrong place and is guilty of that.This was exacerbated by the failure to call the director when it was discovered. I think the committee decided that the punishment for that is prescribed by statute and therefore did not have any discretion. Absolute liability. I do fault the directors and committee for that. Traffic police often write tickets for less serious offenses. DA's do the same. And judges get creative - all in order to avoid punishment that far exceeds the crime.

The other is a guilty mind.This is far more serious. What was his intent? To call him a cheat is to decide that he had a criminal intent in doing the act.It if was determined that he intended to foul a board to negate a bad result, it would be reprehensible and the punishment much more severe.
I think it is pretty clear by the subsequent actions that it was not his intent.
Aug. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Records from the pre-computer age are hard to keep right. Judi also finished second in the Vanderbilt in 1979 and I don't see that being mentioned. Also, until a few years ago, the second place finish in the Reisinger in 1972 was credited to John Solodar. There was a period from the late 70's until the early 90's that no women's pair in the world had a better record than Judi and her partner. They had multiple firsts and seconds in bridge events at all levels. If she never had another result, I think that would be enough to qualify for the Hall of Fame. Furthermore, all of her teammates from that time who are age eligible are in the Hall of Fame
March 2, 2015
Michael Radin edited this comment March 2, 2015
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top