Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Max Schireson
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes I think you have to play the diamonds before the second round of trumps, otherwise W can pitch a diamond loser on one of the trumps and the squeeze won't work.

Sounds like you are having a fun evening, enjoy and take a look in the morning :)
Sept. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's a great program but he asked for the line :)

I think west is squeezed in hearts and clubs. If they go after the club ruff you ruff a heart low, finesse in trumps, ruff a heart high, and eventually they have to unguard clubs or hearts while you draw trump. The key is attacking the hearts as you are drawing trump so that you can get an immediate heart winner by the time trumps are drawn.

If they don't go after the club ruff, you can take 3 clubs (and if they ruff it transposes into the line above), a diamond, one round of trump, and crossruff with your last 6 trumps letting them overruff with the jack somewhere along the way.
Sept. 20, 2015
Max Schireson edited this comment Sept. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ritalin (methylphenidate) is a banned stimulant (WADA list) so banned from USBF/WBF events already along with all similar meds. Glad to hear of TUAs, now I just need to get good enough for those events!

Re some of the other threads “young” does not always equal “no legitimate need for meds”.
Aug. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you know if a prescription from a reputable doctor routinely leads to a TUE? Given the shenanigans in sports (cycling, baseball etc) it seems to be pretty easy to find a doctor to prescribe whatever might enhance the performance of a world class competitor. Which creates a problem either for those with legitimate need or a cheating opportunity.
Aug. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Most common ADD meds are on the WADA prohibited stimulant list. For many with ADD (including me) they are a godsend and restore a normal ability to concentrate (actually in my case still some issues even with meds but huge improvement). I have heard they also help with concentration for those with no disorder.

Practically speaking I don't know that it will be possible to distinguish legitimate medical need so it may wind up with a high incidence in competition if indeed they are helpful performance enhancers for those with no medical condition.

Is anyone aware of TUEs of this type either being granted or refused for USBF/WBF events? I have only been playing 9 months so WBF events are a distant fantasy for me but I am curious how they have handled this issue.

– Max
Aug. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I do remember. Only a bit better than average. Between the two hands 2 10s, 3 9s, 2 8s. If my 7/1 clubs had been 5/3 (making my 5/1 majors 4/2 to compensate) the hand would have played as well - certainly not making 5 or 6 on a favorable lead.
July 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yep - a couple of weeks ago I had a misfit, 12 HCP 1147 across from 12 HCP 5521. We stumbled our way to 3NT despite some bidding confusion and would up scoring about 30% on the board, other pairs declared it from the other side and got a more favorable lead, lots of 3NT making 5. A memorable hand.

Some of it may be defensive confusion, some of it may be the trick taking power of long suits even in a misfit.
July 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The bidding logic I took from “opener across from opener” is not a statement that game is always cold or even playable but that you may miss a game if you don't open a hand which across from a hand of similar strength can make game. Perhaps perversely I took it as an explanation of why the bidding system requires the hand to be opened, not what will happen on the deal - if the hands don't fit you might need to settle for part score.

I opened hand C - 7 losers - which can make game across from many openers including many with less than 12 HCP. Perfect fit would be opposite the same hand with the minors switched and the majors switched, makes 5S unless trumps split 4-0 on the wrong side or hearts split 5-0 or a minor splits 8-1. Certainly not an automatic game across from any opener but enough hands can fit that I don't want to pass it out. Other reasons to open too of course.

That said I passed hand D, which while 7 losers seemed too sketchy for me. Across from its mirror image you still have good play for game but that was a risk I was willing to take.
July 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael: your post has helped me to break the problem into two parts.
1. What does it mean under the law for the claiming declarer to “see” the trump played? In particular is he/she entitled to be “woken up” by the surprising play. I think my comment on a stronger player reflected a presumption that “seeing” means seeing and reacting, in effect waking up. You seem to be suggesting that if the declarer is clearly asleep, seeing does not include waking up. This seems like a reasonable view to me, especially in the context of benefit of the doubt to the non-claiming side, would love to see what others think on this point specifically.
2. Once awake, how big a mistake can be included in normal careless play. On this point I felt that many posters had lost touch with the types of mistakes beginners make. Thus I was able to vote “down 1” without really resolving for myself the answer to what “see” means.
July 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the declarer is a weak player (as is suggested by his confusion over the trump suit and the heart suit as well as his unclear claim statement), the decision to overruff and lose the 13th trick instead of the 12th is not automatic. Many beginners would not do that. Yes, game theoretically it dominates the other choice, but not all players think this way. Certainly in a 99er game I think it could be nearly a toss up even among the times they noticed the trump.

If Kit or Michael or even a garden variety expert made that claim statement I would (after recovering from shock) probably rule that the contract made because I would expect them to overruff, but in the absence of explicit indication of the players level of skill I would assume a level of skill consistent with the statement made.

While I can't claim to have the bridge expertise of many here, I can claim (having started playing only 8 months ago) to have played in games where these types of mistakes are common more recently than many of you. There is definitely a class of player for whom allowing as automatic the logic of “overruff now and see what happens” is a material benefit relative to their play. There really are (lots of) bridge games and players for whom failing to overruff would be a “normal” (careless) play.
July 10, 2015
Max Schireson edited this comment July 10, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top