Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Max Schireson
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The transfer was the actual agreement (as far as I know, neither claimed the explanation was wrong and we did not dig in to that); I was W.

More context:

At the table N passed 5C, arguing similarly to Josh (though in a different situation with the UI). The director adjusted the result, N filed an appeal (which surprised me) but eventually the result was adjusted to -100 for NS - I think 5H-2 but don't remember the exact final ruling.

I had not been thinking about the incident until recently discovering that N was a pro, which made me somehow (perhaps unfairly) feel worse about his action. I think I had previously thought that perhaps he simply didn't understand his obligations with UI, so I had just viewed it as a mistake.

I created this poll to see if others might, absent the UI, find the pass; with Josh having found it I now have more sympathy for his actions, even if it the adjustment seems clear.
Aug. 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Josh,
You nailed the actual situation and win 10 points behind screens.
At the table S looked like she'd swallowed a squirrel when N explained her bid and called the director for a discussion away from the table. Now what do you do? Is it clear enough for you to bid 5C with the UI?
Aug. 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Directionally agree with Linda.

A potential refinement:
Rather than “a maximum” as stated by Steve, I think an invitational bid could be defined as asking partner to bid game or slam with “moderate extra values”. Moderate extra values means not more than one trick beyond the normal baseline for partners bid. Steve's examples are good and I have no problem with the discussion of hand evaluation methods, I just agree with Linda that an invite is more typically not looking for a “maximum” else 1S - 2S is “invitational”.

Btw I was careful to say “normal baseline” rather than minimum because I view Drury as “invitational” even though it asks you to bid game with quite a bit more than a minimum light 3rd seat opener, but only moderately more than a normal opening hand. Others may be able to improve the language.
Aug. 24, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As a math type I often use “or” when both are possible :)

Yes, we may be disappointed with both.
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Have thought about it but not done it yet. Thanks for the suggestion.
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That would have made sense. As I said I am a bit foggy on what happened after my misexplanation, sorry.
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Law 14 actually looks to me to cover it very clearly:

Under 14 B 2, when a card is missing and discovered elsewhere, it is “deemed to have belonged continuously to the deficient hand”. Thus there may have been a revoke. Otherwise no penalties. Joe seems to have covered it above.
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the situation is a bit like walking up to see someone in a grand with trumps of AK432 opposite T65 and needing a finesse in a side suit. They bang down AK and drop doubleton QJ and find the finesse on, making the contract. Well played. We may have something else to say when we look at the auction; on its face it looks like somebody bid too much but I don't know yet if declarer was to blame.

I once passed a 3N splinter by my partner over my 1S opening bid. Oops. She realized the field would be in 4S and would make 6 if a finesse in a side suit was on; she made the right matchpoint play to drop an honor in that suit, which gave her a chance to make 5N. Sure enough the hand developed in a way that she took 11 tricks in NT when most of the field took 11 tricks in spades. She had a great board and earned her top by playing well despite being in an atrocious contract.

We may be disappointed with Mark Lair when we learn his actual behavior in Denver, or we may be disappointed in the ACBL if we don't believe in the process. For now all I can say is that he did the right thing under the circumstances.
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3S would have different meanings depending on how you play 3D, so then the other bids would too.
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ah, if I had only thought to lead the beer card from K7 and pard could have known to return the stiff club for a ruff, we could have beaten it and had a good story, but still no matchpoints.

Did pard know that you were going to ruff?

(Fixed typo)
Aug. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can't say I got it word for word but he definitely found it comical that while he had dropped one trick I had overbid by 2 tricks and my opponents had misdefended by 3 tricks vs double dummy.
Aug. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Completely agree Mike. Seems perfect for the hand.
Aug. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For some time shooting had open events and women's events: 1968 - 1992 for shotgun, 1968 - 1980 for other events. I don't have any context about why the transition occured, why the timing was different for shotgun vs rifle/pistol, or why they wound up with separate events rather than a single open event but knowing the bridgewinners readership I predict someone will know.
Aug. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My general tendency is not to open 2 with distributional hands especially those rich in minor suits where I am sure the auction will continue. But even though the auction didn't die I definitely think I took it too far with this hand.
Aug. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had been playing a little over a year and was really struggling to count hands. Every time I made a wrong discard decision not knowing what was left was so frustrating to me.

I was playing in 4S in a club game. Opponents were solid club players. Having misplayed the hand I had to take the last two tricks to make.

In my hand I have the last trump and the 6. The board is useless with no entry, but it is the J and the 9.

I know RHO holds a good club (I think it was the 9) and a good heart (I think the T). RHO has seen enough to know my hand, but my only hope is that he will misplay.

How to make him misplay? I must start with the trump in my hand, the question is what to pitch of my worthless cards in dummy. If I pitch the heart then he knows his cards aren't covering anything in dummy so he has to think about my hand. But if I pitch the diamond his heart is covering something he can see. And something that seemed more valuable to me than a J. Sure enough when I pitched the diamond he held the heart and pitched the club, giving me the contract.

Finally I was the one who knew what was where at the end of the hand. After a year on the other side it felt really good.
Aug. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree David.

In addition to avoiding an appearance of impropriety for the team, I think his withdrawal makes whatever is decided in his hearing more credible.

Imagine if he had not stepped aside and he was found to be either not guilty or guilty of only a very minor offense while others got harsher sentences. Rightly or wrongly some might wonder if he got special treatment to avoid casting a shadow over the results in Poland. I think his having withdrawn will lessen the questioning of the verdict.
Aug. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sabine,

Thanks for posting this.

Putting aside any opinion on how the many plusses and minuses of Olympic participation would net out for bridge I am stunned that nearly half of article two relates to the Olympics and anti-doping. The simplest and clearest word I can come up with to describe that allocation of emphasis is “insane”.
Aug. 17, 2016
Max Schireson edited this comment Aug. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, since we are on the topic of naming… I would not object to being called a mentee (even if it's not a real word) or a student.

I believe protege connotes a closer relationship/stronger endorsement from the mentor and probably isn't right to describe many of these relationships.

Also I think pro/am is often incorrect in bridge as often the mentor is not a pro.
Aug. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kathryn,
Really frustrating.
When you say you “asked the ACBL” what does that mean? I am not surprised that it wasn't allowed under existing rules, but I am curious if there is a a process to try experimental games. This seems like an experiment worth trying. Perhaps persistence in asking to run an experiment could lead to a different answer that “is this allowed”. If there isn't such a process there should be! Maybe this is Ed's special waiver process?
Sounds like you already have a great program. Love your idea. Hope you can get it done.
Aug. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Scott,

Fwiw I think a 4H call would still be improper with that hand, though it seems like a much closer call. The hand is definitely more offensively oriented than my actual hand, but I suspect with an alert some might still leave the decision to their partner. If passing is a logical alternative
(which I suspect it is, but perhaps a minority action) the same issue exists.
Aug. 15, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top