Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Mark Smith
1 2 3 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let me insert this. I was not any of the players. I was not even at this game.
Dec. 26, 2017
Mark Smith edited this comment Dec. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe someone could help me out and tell me why it was decided to constrain this rule to have a singleton honor card in the suit instead of a singleton any card?

Also, do you have to count the singleton honor as part of your high card points or can it be outside of your points since it may be worthless. Can you open 1nt with a 17 count and a singleton king outside of the 17?

Any guidance would be appreciated
Aug. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think its a conspiracy against Bundy. ACBL live is programmed to only find Pegster's bad games and publish those!!
Aug. 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, both situations are examples of very good sportsmanship and bending over backwards to not take advantage of errors by the opponents.

A trickier situation arises if a professional player is playing with a client at the table.

Of course, in the first example, the pro does not have to admit to his client that he saw anything if he decides not to take advantage of seeing the cards that were flashed to him by the opponent.

The second situation is much trickier. Shouldn't the pro take advantage of the penalty card since they have a fiduciary duty to the client to at least make sure the rules are enforced on behalf of the client? Should the pro leave this decision up to the client and see if they say anything?
June 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry, it was 8-5
June 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am really not a fan of holding 4-4-3-3
Dec. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The solution is simple Pegster, just add a few more days to Nationals and then everyone could play in every event, what could be easier?
Sept. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I hate to redouble with 10 or 11 points and a flat hand, I just play that a new suit after a double is forcing and bid my hand as if the double did not exist. If you have a game forcing hand, you can redouble and then cuebid the suit that the opps bid to ask partner to bid a 4 card major or to tell them to describe their hand otherwise.

Phillip, I have never read that article but after getting enough bad results the other way and 35 years of playing bridge, it has convinced me that redouble on marginal hands is a hindrance instead of a help.
Sept. 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John, he was giving club count to his partner, it didn't matter which club you played, he would have always played the jack.
Sept. 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Four clubs is always Geeber. The only problem is that he never taught us the responses!!
July 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think this should be assess the percentage blame problem instead of look for 1 bid to blame. I think neither of the players have a clue as to bridge and each of them made bad bids along the way and they should each be assessed about two hundred percent blame for this disaster!! Of course our master would have been proud of them for going for sticks and wheels.
July 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think we have used that word on many occasions in the past and the word was “Masterful”!!
July 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pass is right out of the insane asylum. Even if partner is a passed hand, you still have a cuebid in support of spades. If I was playing and bid 2 spades and it got passed out, when this dummy hit the table, I would call for the partnership desk to trade in this partner. Other than that, pass was a fine bid!!
July 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I made up the name Malthusian Fits for them named after the great theorist Thomas Malthus who created the theory of a Malthusian Catastrophe based on overpopulation. In bridge, it is a Malthusian Catastrophe because the disaster in the hand is due to the overpopulation of trumps on the defenders side.
July 27, 2015
Mark Smith edited this comment July 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think 4nt is a better call by South but none of it is absolutely terrible. Fonz used to have much better material in the good old days when the bids weren't even close to reality.
July 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was thinking maybe they may play McCabe Adjunct and you were only supposed to bid 2 spades as lead directing if you had a diamond fit. But, on the other hand, how can you bid 3 spades without the safety net of having a diamond fit? As you can see, they do have a spade fit, but North allegedly does not know that.
July 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know. Is it kind of like asking for a review of a ruling in a football game if you are winning and the score is 60 to 3 going into the last minute of the game? It is certainly your right to do it if you disagree with the call. Would that be considered unsportsmanlike conduct? or taking your 3 remaining time outs?
July 11, 2015
Mark Smith edited this comment July 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's a good point Richard. I was hoping someone would bring that up. When your side ALWAYS asks for an undo, it would become noticeable if you went down in a cold contract because you did not ask for one and that would be tantamount to gloating that “we did not need that undo to beat the heck out of you”.
July 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For all of those players who use 4 clubs as key card over a preempt and want to use 5 clubs as exclusion or asking about control of clubs, how do you get to play 5 clubs when partner opens a 3 level preempt?

I gave this question to a group of experts playing at the Tampa Regional today and Sharon Meng from Tampa had a very viable solution that few would have ever thought of. She said why don't you use 4nt by the responder to the preempt as a transfer to play 5 clubs.

Everyone at the table agreed that this seems like a good solution as to how to get to play 5 clubs and you can keep 4c as key card for the agreed suit and a jump to 5 clubs as exclusion or whatever you want to play.
May 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Come on guys, this is simple. It asks the 3 spade bidder if they have second round control of clubs to bid 6 spades. If partner has first round control of clubs, you can agree that they can bid 6 clubs or they bid another first round outside control which is highly unlikely for a 3 spade preempt.

For those who say that 4 clubs is key card for partners preempt so would not be able to get to 5c except to play it as natural, what would you do with the same hand with diamonds since 4 diamonds followed by 5 diamonds would ostensibly be a way of getting to game? I can understand why using 4c is commonly accepted as key card but why not be able to play both treatments and just use 4nt as key card and 4c as natural and 5c as asking for control.
May 26, 2015
Mark Smith edited this comment May 26, 2015
1 2 3 4
.

Bottom Home Top