Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Gebhardt
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 15 16 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Interesting. My purpose in putting this on Bridge Winners was to see if most people still use 4NT as takeout and double as penalty oriented. Also does 4NT require a tolerance for hearts?
Jan. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Which bid 4NT OR 6C?
Jan. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dave I agree, but think I should have still bid 6D over 6C. That could be wrong if partner was 3-2-2-6, but that's why pre-empts work.
Jan. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Excellent comment. My partner bid 6C at the table and I failed the test by passing.
Jan. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What do you do if partner bids 6C WITH THE South Cards?
Jan. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
People get confused even after playing a convention for 6 months. The mis-bid was not the primary reason for the E-W disaster. It was East's mistaken idea that she wouldn't get doubled in the face of strong bidding by the opponents. Sometimes they get lucky and it makes but more often they go down. I learned long ago that you have to double or people will steal you blind. In the club I am known for my killer doubles and people tread lightly.
Jan. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John, I gave the reference the notes used: 1m (X) Transfer by Robert S. Todd. In this case is a normal 2C bid and 3D would confirm a solid 10+ points. The hand obviously belonging to N-S from North's perspective.
Jan. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North assumed that N-S could make either 4C or 4D based on the bidding and South would know what to do.
Jan. 10
Marion Gebhardt edited this comment Jan. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is no agreement other than standard bidding after 1(m) 1M)!!!
Jan. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes N-S can provide documentation on their agreement. They follow 1m (x) Transfer by Robert S. Todd and South had a copy at the game and had reviewed it before the game (alas was still confused-happens as you get older)
Jan. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since when is this sequence a 2/1 game forcing auction??
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Excellent analysis Ray. If West had that hand why didn't he bid 3S(preemptive) at his first opportunity to bid.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No suit lead transfers after an over-call of partner's opening bid. Partner was confused. A simple N-S auction where East took a bid that she thought she would get away with not being doubled. She is used to most people not doubling. North is not your average club player.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No explanation given.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't know what universe you play in but if 3D is forcing then I guess I have a lot to learn about this game.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Certainly North's double was meant for takeout. On the bidding the hand belonged to N-S and South can pull to 4C or convert with the hand she held. East had no business taking the belated call as West could have raised with a much weaker hand.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The 3D bid by South was assumed to be a game try showing a solid hand with 10+ points. North rightly so judged that it would take a perfecto to make 11 tricks. Bidding game on hands like this is losing bridge at the club level (take it from someone that averages close to 60 percent in club games). So with East seeing the bidding and knowing that the 3D bid by South should be a mild game try, why would you as East chance a 3S and either get doubled or possibly push N-S into a making game.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North doesn't have a game going hand, but is unwilling to sell out to 3S
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South explained before the lead that she thought she was showing a constructive diamond raise. When the director arrived North explained that South was confused and that the 2C bid was assummed to be a hand with 5 clubs and 10+ points. E-W had the same info.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree N-S should not keep the score of +470, but what is fair. I think East thought with the Heart stack that they were getting +300 against a highly doubtful game.
Dec. 19, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 15 16 17
.

Bottom Home Top