Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Liam Milne
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can easily imagine no losers in the red suits, so I think I'm worth a move. 5 can't be natural, so I'll show my control. The five level feels safe to me.
Feb. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Won't partner know a diamond shortage is good if you do something else, e.g. splinter in clubs?
Feb. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's assume 2NT is Jacoby with opener rebidding shortages, 2 is something non-useful on this hand, and splinters the usual 10-12 or so.
Feb. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Double was the winner, was wondering if anyone could find it!
Dec. 19, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2NT natural, normal fairly solid style for 2
Dec. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Will, no - a good player doubled in this position, so wanted to see the opinions of others.
Dec. 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Assuming the most common agreement of double = 4/4 majors (exactly), we are basically raising partner's 1 response. It looks borderline between 2 and 3. I'm falling on the side of 2 because we have an additional bid available, 1, which we might bid with really terrible hands with four spades, so I'm hoping 2 shows at least a little bit of interest.

Cuebid followed by 2 would be GF.
Nov. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hey dudes. Nice to see you in the well!

Psychology (and emotions etc.) plays a big part in this game. What do you guys feel you do well in this area? Where do you feel you still have work to do?

Hope to see you in the USA again sooner rather than later - hopefully Philly.
Oct. 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm thrilled that the IBPA has seen fit to honour Sartaj Hans for his book and Nabil Edgtton for best junior deal of the year.

If you haven't read Battling the Best yet, now's the time. It's a great read with something for everyone. You won't regret it!

To read about the hand that won Nabil his award (from the World Youth Teams Championship last year), you can check out the Bridgewinners article that inspired the IBPA article here: http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/fantasyland/

Well done to all of the other award winners.
Aug. 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I love bridge enough to have made it my living. Why would I not play for fun, as well as for a crust?

I played professionally for part of the NABC in Toronto and had a bunch of work lined up in Sydney for when I got back. In between, I played a 3-day Australian event with some of my closest friends and had a blast. It would've been crazy not to!
Aug. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nice hand! You beat me to the punch :) I heard about this hand in Toronto and likewise thought it was fantastic.

I gave it to Bart Bramley at the baseball game the day after I heard about it. After about 10 minutes I said, alright, I'll let you have it. “No, let me work it out. I'll get there.” A minute later he had the solution. Better than I did when given to me!
Aug. 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not wrong at all. You are right that East could have played K at trick one which would certainly have woken West up.
July 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Having thought a bit more about this, I'm inclined to agree and have updated the article accordingly. The win cases for ducking are pretty easy to spot, and I'm not sure there are many loss cases at all if the defence plays well. Good eye.
July 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, I do think West should have switched. East's underlead of the diamond is the clue. This layout is very findable given that Q with declarer makes 4 likely cold.

I think this hand is very interesting from a defensive point of view as well. It's often hard for the defence to appreciate declarer's problem - so often it is right (and hard enough!) just to work out what is going on. But on this type of hand, how the defence plays and what they discard often swings declarer's decision.

IF East held xxx and Qxxx, for example, they should definitely pitch a club at the end to lure declarer into trying to drop the Q. And the same goes for other layouts where the defence can try to mislead declarer as to the true layout. East might have pitched a heart on the actual hand, for example.

I didn't consider a possible heart shift from West, only a club. Hearts are obviously riskier but declarer is unlikely to play the defence to underlead the Q unless they are really desperate. Interesting idea!
July 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Peter. I think I agree with you.
July 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is truly one of the best books on defence - and bridge in general. I really love this book! Good luck Johnno
Feb. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Tom. Actually, no - this came up at the table with no tempo issues. I thought 4 was clear, but it didn't work this time. Some of my peers thought pass was clear. Hence the post.
Feb. 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And thank you, David, for your kind words.
Jan. 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You're right. So declarer must judge whether the chances of a mis-defence are worth a moderately decreased chance of success in the club suit.
Jan. 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Kevin, you're right - I didn't analyse that variation. Declarer is definitely down if East ruffs immediately and continues with hearts, ruffed. But As Steve pointed out, pitching (a diamond) saves the day. Nice find.

I've often found in these hands where something cool happens, that on a different variation, usually a different cool thing happens. Another example!
Jan. 31, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top